The perfect packing list


Advertisement
Asia
November 1st 2008
Published: November 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

With the contents of my small pack dumped out onto the bed, I took inventory and wondered if there even could be such a thing as a perfect packing list for the ultra light traveler?

At the Thai-Cambodia border I had met a man who traveled in the clothes he stood and carried a toothbrush, bar of soap and a small towel (besides his passport and money of course). He washed his clothing every evening if needed, had short hair and obviously stayed away from cold climates and fancy social gatherings.

Perhaps I'm incubating parasites that may lend to my demise, but I've managed without a water filter until now. Will I ever be bothered to use it when a few drops of a carcinogen or two will wipe out most of the scary stuff, or at least keep me from actually feeling ill?

From the pile before me I determine that the mosquito net stays. It packs up into a bundle the size of a pint of Ben and Jerry ice cream. With very short hair again, the conditioner and gel could be ditched, but if I left it behind now, my hair would become matted, unmanageable and .....nah!

High SPF sunblock of the sticky zinc oxide kind reflects the dastardly rays and makes me want to rub it off as soon as it's smeared on. A necessary evil. Leaving without malaria prophylactics, I have some Cipro to hand. Many countries can supply pharmaceuticals wthout the need for a prescription, quality unknown, but fine for an experimental drug user like me.

Most items may be found and bought on an 'as needed' basis. For example, a razor to transform one's appearance back from the Primate-like state or even cosmetics for those who can't do without. Just don't count on replacing mislaid underwear and clothing unless you're a "little person", and know that tampons will not do their job unless you have stemming nasal drip in mind when you buy them!

Some things have to make the journey if you're female and even the ability to be "Inventive to Infinity" may leave you in a bind, so do beware.
Sent via BlackBerry from T-Mobile

Advertisement



Tot: 0.351s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 41; dbt: 0.2914s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb