The send off


Advertisement
Asia
October 31st 2008
Published: November 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Suddenly It's hectic her in Phnom Penh!
Papers from the US were emailed to me to print and sign (notarized and witnessed by two) for escrow. About to call the Law firm, I'm informed of the three day holiday for the King's Birthday, so there's no way I can get them signed immediately as ordered.

The Lawyer here wants Matthew to send original Cambodian land purchase documents ASAP, which means even more work for a man who's already running around headless.

Now I'm waiting for Sophat's cousin to arrive with his helmet for Sophat to borrow (how trusting of him), before we leave and buy one for me on our way out of Phnom Penh. Yet another new helmet, along with. a cushion to protect my 'arse' during the journey to Battamdang

Not too hot right now and the fan cooled room has been tolerable as long as I don't move about, just lie on the bed as if dead. In preparation for hours in the sun on the bike I'm over dressed in long sleeves and dread suffocating in the helmet, but I must set a good example to protect my eyes as well as my deteriorating brain.

Finally the cousin showed and Sophat had meanwhile left and returned with cheap head gear and a charming pink Mickey Mouse cushion. The Hotel owners (Dara and Reangsey, Khmer sisters) and half the staff gathered in the road to see off on yet another adventure. They're easily amused as they wonder what style of pillow I'll have for each journey, and marvel at the agility needed to vault onto the "big" bike. Standing on the high foot rests I always make a show of getting the pillow position 'just right' which sets them to laughing like children. They've never seen anyone else need such creature comforts, but then they've never met amyone who insists on covering every cm of this land by bike either!

It was time to wave and leave. Plans after Battembang? Not yet known. Days until the return to PP? In time to sign papers to secure a new condo in San Pedro!
Sent via BlackBerry from T-Mobile

Advertisement



Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0685s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb