Shooting the breeze on the way to Battambang


Advertisement
Asia
October 31st 2008
Published: November 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

We're swinging in hammocks hanging in a bamboo hut built on stilts over what can only be described as a cess pit.

During the dry season this roadside rest stop would overlook parched fields but much of Cambodia is still underwater and so we have instead a view of temporary wet lands, complete with an abundance of insects on us and in the food!

Halfway to Battambang (after a detour to Kompong Chhnang town, to re-visit a Physiotherapy clinic accidently discovered two years ago), and having stopped for a bland meal at this roadside 'cafe', we aren't willing or eager to get back on the bike just yet.

Clouds have again appeared in the sky and there's a rare cool breeze blowing.
The heavy grey sky we set out under never released it's threatened rain and as I'm reluctant to unpack my waterproof jacket I'm happy to stay dry.

Sophat has fallen asleep lstening to Khmai love songs on his borrowed phone, so I doubt I have to concern myself about a particular arrival time in B.Bng and am quite content to stare out over the flooded countryside in front of me.

Sent via BlackBerry from T-Mobile

Advertisement



Tot: 0.032s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 20; dbt: 0.0161s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb