It's All Hallows Eve (who'd have guessed)!


Advertisement
Asia
October 31st 2008
Published: November 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

As arranged, Sophat arrived just after 6am to drag the gunny sacks down one flight of stairs to the waiting tuk tuk. His hand outstretched for money to pay the driver and the bus fare for them to be "safely" delivered to ST, he estimated our time to depart to Battembang to be around 9 am or near.

Gui tieu is now my staple breakfast and is a noodle soup with choice of meats or seafood. For my third morning I've eaten liver for it's higher iron content and then ordered a large, sweet Khmer coffee, to possibly sabotage my health kick.

The end of the wet season ushers in the time for weddings, making sleep difficult for most but the dead. The music and singing can be endured, if not enjoyed, when heard during daylight hours and early evening. Distorted as it inevitably is when played loudly through speakers, it becomes unbearable but the volume is an advert to those of lesser means that this family can afford to entertain it's guest in the modern way.

Having attended a few now, I attest to the fact that conversation is impossible and the only activity left to guests is to drink or dance, or drink and dance in the case of the men (I'm an honourary man). I'm passing on the two weddings in Kratie and may be back in PP for a marriage here, but I'm eager to get out of PP and into the lush countryside again.

One caveat. An early morning email from the US urges me to print and sign papers, to be duly notorized and returned by air. I can only hope that the law office is open today.

This journal entry is too long and now maybe a good time to comply with these directions, and ramble to myself later.

(Blackberry first draft. Oh Seb, it's Halloween today here ...and you still have to wait!)
Sent via BlackBerry from T-Mobile

Advertisement



Tot: 0.147s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0712s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb