Where are all the tuk tuks gone? Saigon!


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
September 7th 2009
Published: October 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

We made it here easily the board crossing was not a fuss although I was freaking out because I left one of my bags on the bus and everyone else brought theirs with them. If I wasn’t going to get in trouble I was scared that someone was going to plant drugs in my bag and say "whose bag is this". Think I’ve been watching too many scary movies either way I’ll never leave my bag again.




"Where are all the tuk tuks?" Is the first thing I say before we even get off the bus. Although I was sick of all the tuk tuk drivers offering us a ride in Cambodia I still view them as an excellent way to get around the city. Now we have to resort to taxis or motorbikes, I’ll gladly stick to the taxi as on these roads it’s a free for all and looks like the bigger vehicles win. I have never seen worse!



We started our first day with a trip to the War Remnants Museum which was filled the horrific pictures and information about the Vietnam War. They also had pictures of the effects of
Ahh so busyAhh so busyAhh so busy

We had to cross this road!
Agent Orange on the land and people, it was really sad to see such devastation continued well past the war.
Outside the museum was huge American air force planes and tanks used in the war also they had an example of a tiger cage where prisoners were held and tortured. Even though it was sad we are glad we learnt the devastating history of Vietnam. The rain still hadn’t stopped when we had finished so we decided to get some Pho which is a large bowl of beef noodle soup, yum!

There are 4 and a half million motorbikes in Ho Chi Minh City, made me nervous crossing the road.

AHHH we slept in! I woke up this morning with Dale asking me what time we were meant to meet for our tour. OH No we are ment to be there now! We though on our clothes and raced out the guest house door with the owners looking at us like we were crazy (probably wondering why we didnt want our free breakfast). Lucky we only had to go two doors down the street and we ended up waiting any way. We went and cheeked out the Cu
MeMeMe

At the Cu Chi Tunnels
Chi tunnels. It was cool climbing down the stairs to navigate our way though the dark tunnels that did
t seem to end. Lucky Im small, Dale had a bit of trouble fitting and we made for an early exit. We could have stayed down for 100m but I think we only went 30m. The tunnels joined up to underground huts around the village they even had a hospital joined up to the tunnels. It was really good to see.




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0548s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb