Saigon


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
December 7th 2008
Published: December 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Re-Unification PalaceRe-Unification PalaceRe-Unification Palace

This is the Palace that used to be the home of the president before the war with the north.
Today I did the tour of Saigon, I saw the re unification palace which is a sixties style palace built before the war by one of the presidents, it was used by the Americans during the war as a base of operations...some of the americans seemed very excited to 'actualy be here in this place', but for someone who had not seen it on the news during the vietnam war it was not quite so exciting. I also saw the old post office and the Notradame cathedral which is not so impressive by European standards of Christian architecture but it is the best I’ve seen in Asia, the French had built it as they had previously ruled the country.
Generally the people in the south seem more possitive and are nicer, the city of Saigon is also alot better than Hanoi...there are better buildings and it seems like a much nicer atmosphear.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Me and PalaceMe and Palace
Me and Palace

Me outside the Palace
Noteradame CathedralNoteradame Cathedral
Noteradame Cathedral

This is the Cathedral which was built by the French.


18th December 2008

Saigon or Hanoi
I have been over Hanoi and Saigon and I love both - so friendly people with smile all time
18th December 2008

Launderette??!!
I am struck (impressed) by the pristine nature of your clothes, not bad at all after all that travelling (by train!)
20th December 2008

hmm, maybe I was just unlucky with who I met but I was short-changed twice in Hanoi...the amount of money is nothing but its the fact that people would try this that i find offensive. I also dont like the way they say they understand when they obviously dont, makes communication very hard. There are more reasons but i mainly put it down to their former french rulers so i guess its not their fault. As for my dirty clothes most hotels have somewhere you can do laundry or they will do it for you for a small fee

Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0596s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb