Train to Saigon


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
December 6th 2008
Published: December 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

ViewsViewsViews

This is a Typical View in Vietnam, there is some nice sceanry shame the weather was rainy.
Today I am travelling to Saigon on the train it is 31hrs 2 nights and one full day. I am sharing my 4 bed cabin with 2 50/60 year old Vietnamese with a young I assume grandson of about 4 or 5. They don’t speak English but from what we can communicate they have been visiting there children who work in Hanoi, they live in the suburbs of Saigon.
During the day I played with the child and communicated with the man, we traded some money, I think he was happy to get some US Dollars…I’m not sure why but he seem to want his wife to change all her Vietnamese Dong for my dollars, I only changed 6 dollars with them. I think at one point he was trying to convince me to take his grandson to live with me in London while trying to convince his grandson that it was a good idea, I did not accept the offer, just tried to explain if he studied hard maybe he could get there himself one day. Near the end of the day the man was trying to get me to come and stay with him in Saigon, I had to
TrainTrainTrain

View of the Train as we travel though Vietnam.
explain that I had a hotel booked.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

CoastCoast
Coast

There are some nice views of the coast along the route.
BeachesBeaches
Beaches

Most people I spoke to in vietnam said the beaches were the best thing about it, I didnt visit any but the ones I saw from the train looked kinda nice.
CoastCoast
Coast

Another coastal beach view.
FamilyFamily
Family

This is the Vietnamese Family from my cabin sadly the picture it blurred.
PeoplePeople
People

Here you can get a clear view of 1/2 of them.
Level CrossingsLevel Crossings
Level Crossings

This gives an idea of the sort of traffic you might see in vietnam.


17th December 2008

Travelling companions
Great experience - I wonder if this changed your views of Vietnam.
17th December 2008

How Entertaining
50 or 60? Surely not they don't look a day over 30! The lad is cute, I bet you had fun! Were you not tempted by the dongs to accept their offer??!!x
17th December 2008

Very Interesting!
It is so interesting to see the changing atmosphere of all the places visited. So they weren't all unfriendly people there, then? Perhaps they thought you had a few more dollars tucked into your underpants. Good that you got on thought, considering the length of the journey. I expect there were a lot of smiles exchanged! x
17th December 2008

I dont think its really changed my view, I have no plans to visit Vietnam again anytime soon. as for the ages you should always add aleast 20% to the age you think people over here look...they look very young.

Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0221s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb