Bus to Cambodia


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap
December 9th 2008
Published: December 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

CambodiaCambodiaCambodia

This is a typical scene in the countryside in Cambodia.
Today I am going Siem Reap which is a city near the temples of Angkor this is the world’s largest temple complex, I will be traveling by Bus as there is no train between Vietnam and Cambodia the journey will take 12 hours and it starts at 7am. From what I saw Cambodia is very flat…it seems to have very tropical plants with many palm trees, there are also a lot of rice fields, the vast majority of buildings outside of the towns are built of stilts I think this is due to regular flooding, Most of the buildings in the countryside are built of wood it looks as though many of the homes have a small fruit farm around them and some have a small stall outside the front selling what they have produced. I think it is mainly very basic farming I have not seen any machinery. On the bus I met a man from Korea, he works 5 months each year in his parents restaurant and travels for the rest of the year. He did not have a hotel booked I told him I had booked one online and he came with me to see if there were
FerryFerryFerry

The bus ride indluded a short ferry trip over a river.
additional rooms available, there were he booked in and we went to get dinner together… we also decided to meet up the next day and explore the temples of Angkor.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Cambodian HomesCambodian Homes
Cambodian Homes

The Typical homes in the countryside are built on stilts, I assume this is to prevent flood damage as cambodia is very flat.
HomesHomes
Homes

Most of the homes in the countryside are built with wood...some also use leaves and parts of trees.


18th December 2008

Nice!
Cambodia looks very nice and not at all as I had imagined, I think I would like to live there, you look good too! x
18th December 2008

A Different World
A friend and some food in Cambodia! Who could ask for more. The variety is fascinating Sam, and some big river, hey? I have high hopes of seeing the temples of Angkor soon. Awaiting with bated breath. xx

Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0676s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb