Beautiful Hoi An


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Quảng Nam » Hoi An
September 20th 2009
Published: October 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hoi An definatly has charm about it, as soon as I got here I fell in Love with the historical old town. Hoi An is a beautiful small town with so, so many tailors and a French look about it.

We have also noticed more of a Chinese influence now were heading further North. We have enjoyed walking around the small town, especially in the old town as motorbikes are banned, so it’s relaxing walking around knowing you’re not going to be run over. We were going to hire bikes for a day but out of the old town we witnessed a bike crash and decided not to risk it.




I have been really impressed with all the art galleries around the old town and I can’t help but think it would be nice to own one of the works. Instead I have settled on another dress!
Tailor shops are everywhere I decided to go online to find reviews about the good ones. I found one that was not too expensive. The quality was not as good as the dress I got made in Thailand but this one was $40 USD cheaper. I was quite happy and if I had more money would have brought more.

Japanese bridge is impressive. At one end it has a dog, and the other has a monkey, no one is too sure why but think it’s the year in which the construction started and ended. It is just a small bridge but is one of the main sights in Hoi An.




Lanterns light up the town at night and add to the charm of the town and on our last night Dale and I watched an amazing lightning storm over in the distance lighting up the nights sky.


It’s just a 45 minute drive to Danang where we fly to Hanoi. We have had one day in Danang to look around but it’s not really set out for tourists. It has been raining the whole time but we still managed to go to China Beach to look around. Wish I brought my bikini because the surf was great!




Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.303s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 58; dbt: 0.054s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb