Da lat


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Central Highlands » Lam Dong » Da Lat
January 3rd 2007
Published: January 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

We arrived in Da lat after a shorter bus ride than usual, well it seemed shorter. The travel distance was 6 hours, and of course with some aimless stops. Our last stop was for lunch even though we were very close to Da lat at this point, but then the bus driver wouldn't have got his free lunch at the restaurant if we carried on to Da Lat. This restaurant was quite strange, it had crocodile in a cage and a fake waterfall. The lunch again as horrible.

When we arrived at Da Lat we set off to find some decant food. I was very frustrated at this point with the food situation. And by the looks of the restaurant that we chose I opted to order just a banana shake. I made the right decision, the look of Scott's and Darren's food was absolutely disgusting. By this point, the food situation was flat out hilarious. I couldn't stop laughing at the site of their meals. I left the boys to enjoy their gross lunch to go find warmer clothes, since I was not only hungry and but cold at this point. Later on in the evening Scott and I went to dinner and finally we ate some decent food. Yes! I also watched Borat the movie with scotty, it was very funny but it displayed all the extreme ugly american stereotypes. I was appalled while I laughed.

The next day, Scott woke up very sick. He had a very bad chest and throat infection. There wasn't much Darren or I could do, so we went on tour around Da Lat while Scott slept all day. We ended going to the market to buy sneakers (trekers) for myself for a mountain bike trip that we are planning. Darren was looking for underwear (or pants as the brits would call them). I also made arangements for an easy rider tour the next day. This tour consists of seeing sites around Da Lat on a motorcycle (not a moped), what nice change compared to a bus tour. I have missed motorcycle rides since someone from my past has left my life.
The easy rider tour started at 9:00 in the morning, this was a late start compared to other tours. The tour guide lead me around the countryside and gave me short descriptions of each place. It was beautiful, but a very short tour. Da lat is known for its flowers and coffee and has some very beautiful waterfalls. The highlight was lunch when he took me to a local place and we ate fresh spring rolls that were delicous. I bought more to bring back to Scott, since he was still ill. He enjoyed the meal as well.

The next day Scott, Darren and I have planned to mountain bike back to halfway to the coast and back to Nha Trang, roughly it will be about 40 miles.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

My easier rider tour guide.My easier rider tour guide.
My easier rider tour guide.

The bike I rode on was definity not a harley. It was slow and had no power for the hills.
a wedding along the waya wedding along the way
a wedding along the way

Traveling through the villages around Da lat on my easy rider tour, we came across a wedding.


Tot: 0.033s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0162s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb