Silk Road: Tashkent, Bukhara, and Samarkand


Advertisement
Uzbekistan's flag
Asia » Uzbekistan » Tashkent
April 8th 2013
Published: April 9th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Pamir Masiff on the way to TashkentPamir Masiff on the way to TashkentPamir Masiff on the way to Tashkent

The heavy snows would have made overlanding it from Kashgar to Tashkent impossible.
3 April 2013 Wednesday. We checked in with Air Astana at 2:15 am for the 4:15 am flight to Almaty, Kazakhstan. The flight was uneventful, landing at 4:10 am with the time zone changes. Then we had a 5 ½ hour layover where we stretched out on benches to try to sleep. Looking through the duty free shops didn’t help the time fly any faster. We took off at 9:45 am bound for Tashkent, Uzbekistan. We flew over the Pamir Massif. If there was any doubt whether we should have tried going overland, the obviously deep snows in the mountains settled it. We were told that there had been record snows this winter, and that the passes were closed.

We arrived in Tashkent at 10:30 am and cleared immigration and customs rather easily. There is an ATM just inside the arrival area which I used. It dispensed $US rather than Soms, the Uzbekistan currency. I later found out that this was one of maybe four ATMs in the country, and they all dispense $US. Until ATMs become widely available, which I understand is in the works, tourists are expected to get money from micro banks that perform the same function as the ATM, but manually. Changing $US to soms is another issue. I never did find out how to do it legally at the government established exchange rate of 2045 soms/dollar. I just gave all my dollars to the hotel and they brought me soms at 2500 soms/dollar. The next day I needed to exchange enough for paying expenses for the next week. I returned to the airport ATM, got $US and the taxi driver called a friend who gave me 2700 soms/dollar. We stopped at a street corner and I handed the friend dollars and he handed me back a huge stack of soms…all in 1000 som bills. 1000 som is worth a bit more than $.50, and they don’t seem to have any larger denominations. It seems to me that if the authorities wanted to crack down on their black-market they would just dispense soms at the ATMs Fierce bargaining ensued.

Leaving the airport we were again confronted with the scourge of all travelers…the taxi mafia. The hotel had advised us that we should only pay 5000 soms, against the asking price of 20,000 soms. As I had no soms at that point I paid $5.00 the smallest bill I had. On the way to the hotel we observed that about half of all cars on the road were Chevrolets...was this some sort of Twilight Zone experience. We then passed a GM assembly plant, which explained the reason. We checked into our hotel, had a quick lunch (club sandwich for me) and sacked out as neither Will or I got much sleep the past 24 hours.

We woke up about 4 pm and took a taxi to Advantours to pick up our train tickets and walk around the Old City; specifically the Chorsu bazaar and the Kukeldash Madrash. Tashkent is one of the Ancient Cities on the Silk Road, although its construction in the 15th and 16th centuries put it at the end of the period of the Silk Road. In Uzbekistan we would also visit the Ancient Cities of Bukhara and Samarkand, completing our journey along the Road (I traveled the Silk Road across Turkey in 1991, leaving only Turkmenistan, being too hard to get into, and Iran, too dangerous for Americans at the present time…maybe some day).

The bazaar in every town was where the merchants, who traversed the Silk Road, traded their goods to those who would carry the goods further along the Road. The bazaar was also a community center and place for entertainment. We walked around the bazaar smelling the spices, which were much cheaper than Penzy’s, and the other produce on sale. We ate schwarma at a hole in the wall restaurant. Will pronounced it ok, but not as good as the schwarma in Rome, and didn’t get sick this time. Unfortunately, we forgot to bring the camera.

We returned to the hotel to use their wifi and read until we turned in. My book for this trip is “The Untold History of the United States” by Oliver Stone and Peer Kuznick whose basic premise is that the United States has been imperialist since Theodore Roosevelt was president…and this applies to every president since then, only interested in expanding our commercial interests across the world and defeating a totally exaggerated communist threat during the Cold War. In my opinion, the subject matter covered is a mile wide and an inch deep, with broad statements presented as fact. Truth is more nuanced, requiring in depth analysis where entire books could be written on the issue at hand. I find the book too far left as a moderate.

4 April 2013 Thursday. We had breakfast and then set out to accomplish our list a) find and ATM…after stopping at several banks without success we went back to the airport b) change the money into soms…described earlier c) find a pharmacy…no success so we will wait until we get to Riga d) eat at an Italian restaurant for lunch…my risotto was ok, but Will’s spaghetti carbonara didn’t have the crushed peppers and didn’t use Pecorino Romano or pancetta…alas he will have to wait until Rome, and e) visit some museums in the new part of town which began under the Russian czars in the mid 19th century.

Fast forwarding to the museums, we first visited the Emir Tamer museum. Now Tamerlane was a very nasty dude. His method for expanding his empire which reached from Moscow in the north to the Persian Gulf in the south was to cut the heads off everyone in a captured city and then to play polo with some of the heads…the rest he piled up in a very large pile. But he and his descendents also had a flair for architecture, science and art, which are emphasized in this museum and evident in Tashkent, Bukhara, and Samarkand. We encountered a group of high school students who wanted to talk to us…they go to an elite private school and will be the future leaders of their country. We spent about a forty five minutes with them. After the normal questions about where we were from, how old were we, and comments that Will looked much younger than 23 years old, they wanted to talk politics. They preferred Romney, a good businessman who could restart the world economy, over Obama who they thinks talks to much...who knew that Uzbek high school students were smarter than the majority of Americans!? It went on from there. I really enjoyed the interchange.

Next we walked to the Fine Arts Museum. I was surprised that Will wanted to see the whole thing. I stopped at the third floor when I got too tired to walk any further and he continued to the fourth floor, which turned out to be where the European Masters were... I instantly regretted not having made the effort when he told me that.

We then caught a taxi back to the hotel for dinner and pick up our bags to go to the train station where we caught the sleeper train to Bukhara at 8:25 pm. The compartment only had two beds which meant that we didn’t have to share…much to Will’s delight. With all the jerking I didn’t get much sleep.

5 April 2013 Friday. We arrived at 7 am and again confronted the taxi mafia. The station isn’t in Bukhara, thus requiring a 30 minute drive to our hotel, a rambling boutique hotel composed of restored old homes. We had breakfast and then sacked out until noon.

Bukhara, founded in the 13th century BC is the most ancient of the ancient Silk Road cities. Today we found it to be a delightful place to explore with all the important sights within walking distance of the hotel. Our first stop was the Laybi-khauz, meaning “at reservoir,” where people would come for water and socialize. The manager of our hotel remembered jumping from an old oak tree into the pool as a child, but swimming is no longer allowed. From there we strolled from one mosque to another and one bazaar to another. We stopped at a rug store to fulfill
Jewish synagogue in BukharaJewish synagogue in BukharaJewish synagogue in Bukhara

There originally had been 30,000 Jews here until the 1970's when the Soviet Union allowed them to immigrate. Now there are perhaps 1000.
my desire to buy Linda a Bukhara silk rug. The taxi mafia is nothing like rug merchants. We looked at a few silk carpets and I fell in love with one...the sheen was to die for and the colors changed as the surface rippled. After some hard bargaining, which I am sure I lost, I became the proud owner of Linda's future birthday or Christmas present.

We continued as far as the Ark...the city citadel, before retracing our steps in search of a better view of the Kalyan Mosque and the brick Minaret, a 48 meter flawless example of civil engineering and architecture built in 1127 AD, and a schwarma restaurant. Lunch was ok, but again nothing as compared to the ones Will had in Rome. We returned to the hotel to relax, read, and use the Wi-Fi. For dinner we asked the manager where a good place to eat was. He was about to show an Estonian where it was, so we asked if he minded if we joined him. I told the Estonian...I forgot his name as it was an unusual name...that we would be in Tallinn next week, and asked whether it would be stereotyping to ask if he worked in the IT industry. He did indeed work for Oracle for the last 15 years. We shared a great meal and stories about traveling...he is on the road half the time with an area of responsibility that includes all of Africa, the Middle East and Central Asia. We also got some advice about the Baltics.

6 April 2013 Saturday. We caught the 8:05 am train to Samarkand, arriving there at 11 am. Samarkand was a major crossroad on the Silk Road, whether the various roads converged after splitting at Dunhuang. It was built around the same time as Rome and Babylon, and shares a similar position in the history of world civilizations. Alexander the Great passed through Samarkand in 329 BC as he extended his empire to India. We took a taxi to the boutique hotel, similar to the one in Bukhara...getting near it was a challenge as the main way there was blocked off. After checking in we went out for lunch...again nothing impressive...we were told that no one goes to Uzbekistan for the food. We returned to the hotel to relax. I talked to the manager for awhile...he spoke excellent English...the reason for which was he was a high school exchange student in northern Minnesota, and then went to college in Florida...six years in all.

Mid afternoon I walked to the nearby Registan...a huge square with three madrassahs constructed in the 15th century facing the center. This was the evidence of Emir Tamerlane's architectural abilities. I sat down on a bench facing the square, just to absorb the sight. I asked an elderly European couple near me whether they spoke English. They replied "a bit." I asked where they were from..."Oxford, England." So "a bit" was "a bit" understated. We had a great time talking about things in general and carbon footprints, specifically. Travelers seems to leave a large carbon footprint in case you were wondering how that subject came up.

I soon discovered that Samarkand's sights are not within walking distance unless one is a walker, which I was before my broken ankle, but am currently constrained. I didn't want to deal multiple times with taxis just to get from one to another so concluded that the Registan would have to be the focus of our visit to Samarkand. On the way back to the hotel I passed Will who was on his way to dinner. As I was almost at the hotel, I didn't feel like walking back to the restaurant area, so he ate alone while I had a Snickers bar and Fanta for dinner...never have I stooped so low!

7 April 2013 Sunday. Given that we had seen all that we had intended to in Samarkand, we decided to see if we could exchange our train tickets for Monday departure to a Sunday departure. We took a taxi to the train station, advising the manager of the hotel that we might be back. They were willing to exchange the tickets, but there were no seats left on any train going to Tashkent today! We returned to the hotel and spent until 3 pm reading and wi-fi'ing. At 3 pm we went for a late lunch early supper. On the way back to the hotel I convinced Will that we need to spend a few minutes absorbing the Registan; which we did. He thought Rome was more impressive. That's what a year abroad in Rome will do to a person...nothing can ever live up to it...from food to architecture. Back at the room we read and wi-fi'ed some more.

8 April 2013 Monday. After breakfast I went with the hotel manager to a bank to withdraw dollars using my debit card so that I could pay for the room. The cashier spent the first hour just counting the money, and otherwise getting ready to do her job...couldn't she have been prepared for the customers when the bank opened at 9 am? Anyway, I got back to the hotel at 10:15 am, in time to check out and take a taxi to the train station to catch the 11:00 am train to Tashkent. We arrived at about 2:30 and caught a taxi to the hotel we had stayed at the first night in Uzbekistan. We had stored our larger bags there so we didn't have to carry so much. We had dinner and I completed this blog. I just hope they wake us up at 2:30 am in time for another ridiculously early flight...this time to Riga, Latvia!


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



9th April 2013

Another dream destination
I'm toying with the idea of travelling to Central Asia at present, and reading your blog is coaxing me to undertake such a journey. Thanks for the inspiration!
9th April 2013

No Bactrian camels in Uzbekistan as far as I could tell...
I recommend Dunhuang for camels. Pleased I could be an inspiration.
9th April 2013

Beautiful architecture
Nice rug. Loved the photo of the money. Things seem to be going better now. Enjoy each moment.
9th April 2013

I've had a bit of a reversal...
I guess I over did the walking in Samarkand...walking longer distances deliberately bending my ankle so as not to hobble. So have resorted to using the boot again. Currently in Riga...landed in dense fog...it's freezing and snowing. We walked (I limped) around the old city...from McDonalds back to our hotel...but the poor weather dampens our enthusiasm for the city. So right now I need spring weather as much as a healed ankle. Thanks for your concern. Tomorrow at noon we are off to Vilnius, Lithuania...I will blog this week in the Baltics and Finland as one blog right after I get home.
9th April 2013
Bob with carpet merchant and carpet

Lovely
What a nice rug! I should have asked you to get me a rug as well. Did you get one for mom?
10th April 2013
Bob with carpet merchant and carpet

The rug is for Mom...
or I guess you could say for us. If I was a millionaire I would get one for each of my kids. Now you will have to wait to inherit it!
9th April 2013
Bob in front of the bazaar where he bought the carpet

Amazing!
10th April 2013
Bob in front of the bazaar where he bought the carpet

Me or the bazaar?
Or perhaps both. I liked Bukhara the most of the cities in UZ
10th April 2013

When in Rome...
Compare everything to Rome! How Does Will compare the Roman emperors to Tamerlane? Enjoyed this very fleeting taste of your time in Central Asia. Though, I never realised your time there would be so limited.
10th April 2013

At this point in my travels, I am doing quick overviews...
with the intention of returning to my favorite spots. I still have many places to visit for the first time...like South America.
25th June 2013

Carpet rug
My, Dear sir Useful guidelines on travelblog.org here.It is a right able website for of all us.This website maintaining play a role significantly at the all area.Really I choose this website. It is very beneficial for me because I can to know about these factors. This is very awesome post! I will save this weblog.So I want to discuss Having Floor rug means you have spent in products that took a weaver several weeks or even years to art. They are used for various reasons in a house and they are not omitted when it comes to washing. Even though you will not fresh it regularly the way you would do to your outfits, there is still need to have a frequent washing plan for them. Just the way carpeting are topic to dirt, places, and resolution, so are carpeting. A number of herbal solutions are available that can help when you want to eliminate places or places from your rug. However, you have the choice of selecting an organization with certified Rug Cleaning solutions for your washing needs. Thank you very much for your Amazing Article.
26th June 2013

Thank you for your suggestions about keeping the carpet clean
I have not put it on the floor, but have hung it on the wall, so that should keep it cleaner. I agree that I must respect the labor that went into the carpet...three girls (womens' hands are too large), working 4 hours per day (any more and the quality suffers), for three years.
11th December 2013
Pamir Masiff on the way to Tashkent

did you see I posted a very similar photo?
Hello! I was looking at your blog entries and realized I had posted a very similar picture when I flew from Beijing back to Bishkek. Thought it was funny since we really did share similar experiences and feelings on this Silk Road. I hope this finds you well. Take care!
12th December 2013
Pamir Masiff on the way to Tashkent

Similar picture...
It's such an awesome mass of mountains it would be hard not to take such a picture. You should join TB and post your blogs with pictures so that others can share your experiences just as you did mine! Both Thailand and Central Asia are such fascinating places.
25th December 2013

Great info and pics!
As you know I am here now, I originally wanted to do the whole Samarkand, Khiva and Bukhara thing but due to working conditions here I am unable to and will just skip it in an effort to just fold on this hand. I will have a blog which I will post this weekend about my time here (in Tashkent) and get some other information for travelers as well as warnings, but will be safe about it and publish after I cross the border in Kazak ( EVERYTHING is monitored tightly here). The pics looks awesome and very well written! I enjoyed thoroughly! -Greg
26th December 2013
Wedding party posing for pictures at Registan Square in Samarkand

Inspiring
My wife Catherine and I just started thinking about the Silk Road after reading some Muslim history: Ibn Fadlan. Your blog is clear and inspiring. Thanks. We blog as GregCath G
3rd February 2014
Wedding party posing for pictures at Registan Square in Samarkand

You must have commented before logging on....
but I've found your membership. You are quite the travelers. I'm now Following you and hope to get first to your South America blogs as we are headed to Peru and Bolivia in September. I hope you follow the Silk Road soon!

Tot: 0.156s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 13; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0954s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb