School Day


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
July 27th 2012
Published: August 2nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Unfortunately, I slept terribly - typical, because I’m having an allergic reaction to something. I have a rash that goes from my cheeks to my knees, it is very sad. Achey muscles, headache, temperature and quite poorly too. Chinese balm, paracetamol and the strongest anti-histamines and I’m fine but it’s making me want to itch like I have chicken pocks, it’s slightly maddening. We had our chores today and having fun with all the volunteers, trying to keep my mind off the baby.

Something that helped with that was visiting the school. I went straight for the four and five year olds and had an amazing time. Children are so much fun and you don’t need language, they just want to interact and love you. We played with our cameras and sung nursery rhymes and they were very easy to please. They are teeny tiny, you can scoop up two or three. They were also in fascination with my hair so I have several re-styles. Definitely very sad to say goodbye and leave. When we were playing football with some of the older kids, one girl kicked the ball and it hit a kid right in the face, tense moment. The guides absolutely ripped it out of her for it and it just had to be pretty much the smallest kid there. However, the kids here are tough, no tears.

This evening I took advantage of no elephant mummy duties and played cards with the groups. We drank whiskey and had water fights with our guides when they tried to talk us into going to bed. Drank the obligatory litre of water before bed in the hope of waking up in a fit state to work a few hours later.

Peace and love, from Katie

Advertisement



Tot: 0.028s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0138s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb