Meat Market


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
July 28th 2012
Published: August 2nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Today we were all feeling a little tender and opted for working in the elephant kitchen. Music was out main motivator. We then took the tractor to transport any rotten fruit to compost, few volunteers. I predicted I’d be of little help compared to the guys who were already in the truck but I’m happy to help. I got a lot of teasing, but did my fair share, when I could hardly move the buckets more than an inch by myself.

This afternoon, we mixed concrete, my specialty. Everything is done manually here so it is hard work. We lay a path and that was an afternoon well spend. We had tea and biscuits and sat out with the elephants before supper, so lovely here, can’t express how much. The Elephant Nature Park is such a beautiful please full of love and creativity and compassion.

Late afternoon, there was news in about the project getting involved in rescuing dogs from the meat trade. We watched a horrendous video. It’s not that people are eating dogs, it’s that; many are pets, they are brutally dragged into crampt cages, many do not survive the journey, those who do are force fed, beaten and sometimes skinned alive. All at a great profit as dog is a delicacy in Vietnam. They wanted volunteers able to go up for a few weeks which I just could not do. However, I was later asked if I could do a few days. This would be switched out of my time at the park but all costs would be covered. I thought about it a lot and had many questions but decided that it was right for me to go. There was much discussion and indecision amongst the volunteers and it was a tough decision for everyone. Straight after we got news that our much loved baby had gone into a coma and we’d lost him. We were all devastated and it was phenomenally difficult to hear but he isn’t suffering anymore and that is important.

Tonight was our goodbye dinner even though I’m here for another week. We had family style meals, sat on cushions and enjoyed some final time together as most volunteers leave after a week. There was traditional dancing and our food was delicious. Saying goodbye to the American high school group was sad as they have been the most fun to have around but it was great to have met people I was reluctant to part with.

Afterwards, we were all preoccupied with deciding if we were going to stay at the park or go to the dogs and many of the older girls were great at talking with the younger. I had a good idea of how I was going to decide and was set on going unless anything new came up that changed my mind. I felt like I could go and then risk assess as I went. It was emotional and fortunately everyone who needed to get through to home, to help them side one way or the other, managed to. We stayed up drinking and talking to the vet students but we had a big day travelling tomorrow.



So goodnight, love Katie xx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0286s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb