BANGKOK


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Southern Thailand
June 13th 2013
Published: June 13th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Hi!!
So I arrived in Bangkok after two full days of travelling! It was quite the trek haha but I made it in the end 😊So far iv been in Bangkok for two nights and am staying at a lovely hotel, but am soon moving on. Yesterday I went to a temple and visited the 'flower market' which wasn't a market for flowers lol it was a market more for food-I saw lots of corn and eggs actually! There was also raw meat which in one stalk I saw stored unfrozen, in hot conditions with flies all over it. Yummy. The temples main attraction was the huge golden buddha stretched out. it was a beautiful temple, lots of red and gold and it wasn't too busy either because i went later in the day to avoid the heat. Then it started to pour down with rain so I made my way home-and the jet lag was setting in so felt absolutely shattered... It feels a bit weird without having rach here with me, we've even together for so long! Anyway, I am so so so happy to be in Asia again, I absolutely LOVE it here and can't wait to meet up with my friends next week 😊 Went on a bike tour yesterday of Bangkok which was brilliant! Saw loads of the city I hadn't before, there was lots more remote, really grotty poorer areas than I originally thought there was. At one point we were cycling under a massive bridge and it was like another community underneath it!! Houses (or more like shacks to us) loads of people, a school and a huge huge pig someone had as a 'pet' this pig was absolutely HIGE and our tour guide said he'd been doing his job for 18 months and hasn't seen it move outside a 6m radius the whole time haha!! We then went on a 2 min boat road across a river and saw a very different part of Bangkok. The government has insured that it has to be preserved and that not to much infrastructure should crowd it as its soooo greeeeeennnn!!! It's like a mini jungle lol-and it's in te middle of Bangkok! So weird... Well it's more like a mini island off it but still considered in Bangkok... Again, people are walking around barefoot lol... Just so different to our culture. Am taking a 12 hour train ride to koh samui this evening. TWELVE hours. Woah. Hopefully will be ok 😊 xxxxxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0261s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb