Open Water


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Tao
July 19th 2012
Published: July 27th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Today, we had theory in the morning with more paperwork and quizzes before we went to get ready for our first open water dive in the afternoon. The water was so rough, throwing you around, so setting the gear up on the boat was a challenge. I managed to full on smack my head but luckily no one noticed, oh dear. Definitely nervous but it was so exciting stepping into the water. I’ll admit I found the first few dives tough as I struggled to equalise which I found painful and rather alarming. The only was I can is by swallowing but the dry air makes that so difficult and obviously the more you start to worry about it the more difficult it becomes. Swallowing also requires you to temporarily stop breathing so I’d be waiting to get myself together and realise I wasn’t breathing and you are not meant to do that!

Anyway, this is all irrelevant because it was so worth it. Both dives went so well, there are things you forget or need to thinking about for next time, we are learning, but just to get down there is such a pleasure. Was absolutely exhausted but had a lovely dinner on the beach with great company and even a fireworks display before bedtime.



Lots of love, Katie

Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0283s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb