Dive Island - Ko Tao


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Tao
May 15th 2008
Published: June 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Ko Tao HourborKo Tao HourborKo Tao Hourbor

pretty colours
The day I arrived I started my dive course in the afternoon and we watch a movie about diving - really relaxed like - then it happens - HOMEWORK!! - What?? No really what the heck is this I have to read half this book and finish 3 pages of questions for tomorrow? Do you people not realize I am on vacation? Ok so I calm myself once more and know deep down I should have seen this coming - you get to be a certified diver, make 5 separate dives in 3 days and yes there's actually some course work. Well luck would have it I go back to my room and right next to my bungalow is a guy reading on the deck. I introduce myself and find that he's going to be in my dive course but he had showed up a couple of days earlier and already watched the movie and (wait for it) DID the HOMEWORK!! So being the outstanding moral citizen I am I totally copied all of it, and without shame!! He had even done the next three chapters that were not due until the next day. So with all my homework done Tye (his name - from Vancouver) and I go hang out for the night.

The next day my dive course starts - and as I thought we totally go through all the homework in detail, so I do learn the stuff. Now I have to mention - most of the other dive resorts start you of in the pool for the first part of the training - not ours - out to the boat with us to try it out in ocean first thing. Being really unfamiliar with scuba gear you get trained how to put it all on and then BANG - get in the ocean. We do - but quickly swim in where it is shallower to learn some basics so it’s not unsafe - just un-nerving.

Now I can't even begin to go on about how awesome breathing underwater is - but I can say you see tons of cool stuff. Over the next few days we finish up our class instructions in the morning and continue to dive in the afternoon. I was the only one in our class to get 100% on the written portion. We just finished our last dive today and I
Sam and TySam and TySam and Ty

friends I met
officially have my open water training complete. Ty ad I have signed up for another couple of dives tomorrow and depending on the weather we might be going to SHARK ISLAND.

Nights have really been the same ol same ol - get drunk watch the big screen at the resort and such. We usually go and get a massage before supper as they are supper cheap. We met a girl whose friend is really sick and we hung out most nights. Sam from Saskatoon but I don't hold that against her. She's been fun to hang out with - and I think we're all ending up in Koh Phangan - (Full moon party)

One point of note - yesterday I paid an old lady to torture me - man was it ever weird!! I know what your thinking back home and it's not like that - I got a traditional Thai message and I'll tell you it's painful. Probably not going to do that again, but hey you never know.

I'm off to rent a scooter and see the rest of the island.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Movie / ResturantMovie / Resturant
Movie / Resturant

I ate here often, the seating is typical along the beach front resturnats and bars. At night they would have two movies, one around 6:30 and one around 8:30. If you diving the next morning its advised not to go out and get drunk the night before.
Water taxi on Ko TaoWater taxi on Ko Tao
Water taxi on Ko Tao

I think these people were going snorkeling.
Ko Tao beachKo Tao beach
Ko Tao beach

a typical beach on the island


Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb