Journey to Ko Tao


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Chumphon
May 10th 2008
Published: June 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So from Bangkok I caught a night bus over to Champion, where I had to catch a boat over to the Island of Ko Tao. I had thought the night bus was a great idea as I could get far, not lose any days, and catch up on some sleep. Well I got far and didn't lose any days - but the sleep part went gong show - (somehow I had imagined I would get at least two seats to myself - like at work!). I get on this bus and its packed with tourist (thinking the exact same thing) You have to put your bag underneath so I had kept all my money and important things with me as you should do. The bus was hot and uncomfortable, and there was absolutely no way I could get a wink. It turns out that was probably lucky, as some of the other tourist seating behind me got robbed. Still it boggles my mind how these guys would have pulled it off, there was this Isreal couple who got it the worst - they too had all their important things on them - the girl actually went a step farther than me
Vancouver friendVancouver friendVancouver friend

Sorry I forgot your name
and had it underneath her shorts in a money belt, and then wore a long dress over it all. They managed to go through her money belt while she slept and managed to swindle around $700.00 in cash and travelers cheques. The guy also lost some money out of his back pocket where his wallet was. Like come-on you didn't wake up?? It is possible that they where drugged I guess, because as I recall I was the ONLY person who couldn't sleep - everyone else seamed to be out like a light - including the guy beside me towards the window. Also the helper of the bus kept on making rounds and bumping me as he walked by and I would always look up at him (cause it was pissing me off). It being a two decker bus some poeple think they may have put something in the air con, I think it could have been the food at the bus stop which I couldn’t eat. Thank god. But no-one sitting from me forward got robbed. Very weird, guess I should have looked back more often. When we all stopped in Champion that’s where people started to realize what had happened - so we waited an hour or so for everyone to fill out police reports, and I caught my boat to Koh Tao.

The boat ride over was another three hours which went by rather quickly as I met a guy from Vancouver and we talked the whole way. He hadn't booked accommodations yet and found a killer deal on the boat. I had mine already and was wishing I waited. We get to the island at 10:00am and all shuttled to our respective places, on the way I see his and it looks amazing, I get to mine and it looks Getto, still under construction - building supplies all over the place. At this point I hadn't slept since the day before last and I want to kill my tour agent. I get in and my room isn't ready, its hot I'm all sweaty and told to find something to do for an hour. MAN - what luck. While walking around I am seeing all these nicer better places on the beach and in natural gardens, you can imagine how I am coping. I even debated switching hotels all together even though I had already paid
Outside the dive officeOutside the dive officeOutside the dive office

I thought this is where I would be staying.
for 5 nights. Well once I go and actually check in - my room is across the street in one of the for-mentioned places, and it’s totally nice. OK I am better now. Relax Trent.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0428s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb