Gay Cruise


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Samui
July 8th 2012
Published: July 15th 2012
Edit Blog Post

So having not slept, we packed up and managed to check out and get on our ferry to Koh Samui, Andy was asleep on the floor until about 15mins before we had to get out. Impressive packing skills, I take ages. Short trip and when we arrived we were spoilt rotten as our friend Jun works for a charter company in an office on the pier. He was there when we arrived and let us borrow a bike and a car to get ourselves and our bags to his place. Jun has the most amazing aquarium, with even a little turtle and lobster which make very cool pets. Jun’s let us borrow two mopeds so we went out for lunch before heading to the pier to go on a cruise on his boat. It was a Gay Cruise so I was probably the most disappointing person who’s ever stepped aboard- being a girl. However, rather than being invisible, I fell victim to more teasing that I was expecting. Although, I think the boys had a few more uncomfortable moments. It was a strange experience at times but overall so much fun. The boat was lovely, the beer was cold and we could jump off the roof into the water. Even though this really hurt my foot, it was kind of worth it, I love how the absence of health and safety in favour of common sense and some fun. We stopped off on a beach via speed boat which had the most amazing hotel to have a drink at the bar. I wouldn’t even like to know how much it would cost to stay there, it was stunning.



The banter of the day was that I should go to Cambodia with Alex who was leaving right after the cruise. As I doubted I’d be able to dive yet as I could hardly walk or swim properly, I was seriously considering a de-tour. We’d also been given a list of where to go by Catherine, who knows the place so well having lived there for a year, so it was all very tempting, if a little impulsive. In the end we compromised, I’d go but in the morning, as we were all tired out and had only just got there. I slept the deep sleep of someone who’s been awake 40hours, after the boys had gone out on the bikes for take-away street food, while we watch the end of Wimbledon.



Lots of love, Katie

Advertisement



Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0547s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb