Fire and Water


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Pha-Ngan
July 7th 2012
Published: July 8th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Today, as per my new habit, I’m up so early on the beach just listening to the waves and having a little wonder. Decided that today is the day I get back on track doing things, having given my foot all the time I can cope with to get better. I feel so restless it’s crazy. So Ben took me out for breakfast as he was the first awake and knowing I like company. We had noodle soup on the beach and again I can understand why most people I’ve met describe the length of their visit in months. It is beautiful and I never have to know the time or answer a phone. Sublime nomadic existence, love having no life for a while. However much I miss you all at home. Anyway, while we were eating a rep asked up is we fancied a boat trip which I lit up for. We had about ten minutes to pay, take the moped back, drag the boys out of bed and get to the pier. And we managed it, it was exactly what I was after today. When we got to the boat, the guy who had shown us to the boat took a look at me, my wobbly walk and wrapped up foot and offered to carry me. Now this was pretty cringey when everyone else is just getting on with it, wadding into the water. I gave him fair warning, I’m neither short, small boned or slender but all credit to him he followed through and lifted me right up onto the boat. I felt like such an invalid and massive idiot to all these new people but more importantly how lucky am I? Just when you think boys can be a bit crap, they rise. So we set off and I assessed the whole injury situation. Painkillers, fresh dressing, sea water is good for cuts right? And I wasn’t missing this for anything. We set off; gorgeous day in the sun with cans on cola and with me vigorously applying suncream for dear life. Arrived at a snorkelling spot and jumped straight in. Love swimming in this heat. Unfortunately, as even my right foot has seen better days I couldn’t kick much and my left hand became quickly full of the bandage with came straight off me on entering the water. So swimming was interesting and Ben was making me laugh so I looked ridiculous. Seeing all the fish and the coral was fantastic, worth the trouble. We took a tour around the island, had lunch and visited a few beaches. The real surprise was the visit to the waterfall here. After Laos, doubted I could be impressed and yes the water was no shade of blue. However, when you climbed in, it was full of sand so you could walk freely without being cut up and there were no biting fish. Bonus. To improve matters, you could swim across and through a gap in the rocks of the waterfall. From here you can climb through some caves, in the pitch black and up into the top of the falls. Very precarious to say the least, barefoot and walking very gingerly but it was great fun. The guy who’s boat we were on was really fab and the whole day was lovely. Got caught in an utter downpour on the way back to the boat and were socked to the skin. Whiskey all the way home was the answer.



We had dinner before pushing ourselves for one last night out. Especially for me as I’ve been having to lay so low. So we went to the bars on the beach. There was a power cut which was a bit bizarre as they had to attempt the sound systems and lights on a generator and they were struggling to say the least. In the end the fire shows started and neither light nor entertainment were an issue. There was then fire limbo, fire skipping, fire breathing, you name it. Fire breathing I don’t particularly like to do but skipping is great. You know you can jump rope when the rope is on fire. They use paraffin like we do at home with our fire spinning so I know it doesn’t burn you, just have to mind my hair, felt a bit like a candle. Did not get hit once, hell yes. Stayed out all night, went swimming in a hotel pool at four in the morning. Didn’t bother to sleep at all as we had to check out by 11 so we packed up and took a ferry to Koh Samui,



This blog will turn into the next as there was no real night so I’ll pick up tomorrow,

Having a great time and keeping safe, wishing to same for all at home. Peace and love from Katie

Advertisement



Tot: 0.183s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.121s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb