Flying Business Class


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap
July 9th 2012
Published: July 15th 2012
Edit Blog Post

So, today I packed up and the boys took Alex and I to the airport. Riding on the back with my rucksack on was pretty difficult but it wasn’t far. Once I got there I had to do the thing that I associate with something from a movie, when you go to the ticket office and say you need to take the next flight out of somewhere. However, all the economy seats were booked up. With my sights set on my change of plan, I decided to just give in and fly business class. Alex managed to miss his flight and booked on with me. Managed to get my 200ml suncream through security thank goodness and business was lovely if only for an hour.



Not queuing and having a private ride to the plane was fun, got to do it once. I have decided my aversion to flying has a lot to do with economy class with the cabin fever of having no space and the lack of things like regular drinks. A properly reclining chair that was big enough that I could curl up in with my kindle was fabulous. It’s things like drinking out of a glass not a plastic cup that are so good and the toilet had a single red rose, I kid you not.



We arrived in Bangkok and took a bus to Siem Reap. The journey was long and made confusing because the tuk-tuks don’t take you to the border, however nicely you ask. They take you to get scammed and messed around in a fake office that is not on the border and it is really frustrating. Considering I was limping at half the speed of Alex and had my pack to carry, I did not appreciate having to find the border myself but, to be honest, once I was getting more stamps in my passport I was more than pacified. Had another palaver in that there were no buses to get us into the city centre. Had the usual run around with bad advice about the bus times etc and in the end took a car, definitely not even a taxi, with an American couple into the city. Another “helpful” tuk-tuk driver at 10 o’clock at night and we ended up at a guesthouse which seemed alright. Were very eager for dinner and satisfied with the miles we covered today. Early night to get up before sunrise,



Thank you for reading and Goodnight, Katie x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0342s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb