Khao Sok and Cheow Lan Lake


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Khao Sok NP
November 29th 2010
Published: November 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I admit it. I am cheating a bit. I am going to combine two days in one, primarily because we took a two-day excursion to Cheow Lan Lake in Khao Sok. This trip taught me a lot of things about life and about myself. Here are a few of these important lessons:

1. Men should never wear speedos... ever... EVER!
2. My phobia of snakes is enhanced when sleeping in a shack on the water.
3. I am really scared of dark caves but did not discover this until too late to turn around.
4. I am so scared of dark caves that the big hairy spiders and bats didn't even phase me.
5. I refuse to take any pictures of anyone when in forementioned dark cave, as I am so intent on escaping I cannot waste a second of precious life taking pictures.
6. I am a clutz and do not know how to walk properly, especially in dark caves with many rocks and on muddy paths.
7. My fear of swimming in deep water is conquered (as long as I have a life jacked on of course, silly).
8. The Thai people are amazing.
9. Khao Sok and Cheow Lan Lake are some of the most beautiful spots ever.
10. See number 1.

We loaded up our stuff at about 8:30 and got in the back of the truck. We arrived at the dam to get our national park tickets (200 baht each) and loaded into our longtail. Our group consisted of three people from Switzerland (the guy Peter was hilarious but see lesson #1 as well as the picture provided), a couple from Belgium, and us. Our longtail ride was one hour long through THE most gorgeous scenery. Zach took about 8000 pictures of what looks like the same rock. The lake itself is man-made and huge! There are limestone karsts that jut up and out, and it is so green. The water is a really pretty emerald color, though this could be muck and algae for all I know. It was still pretty.

We arrived at our raft houses. Don't think we went all swanky on you now. Yes it was a 5 star rafthouse: you could see 5 stars out the roof anyways. The raft houses themselves are nothing impressive, but oh so adorable and even better that they float on the lake. We got the worst one by the way. Our window was broken and Zach broke through the floating pathway next to our door (he "claims" the board was rotten but I think it was too much pad thai).

There were quite a few people at the rafthouse, though it seems we were the only group doing the overnight. They served us lunch, which was delish! The one disappointing thing about Thai meals is that dessert is often fresh fruit. Now, I love a good pineapple, but if you know me, I have a huge sweet tooth. I have taken to going to the 7-11 and stocking up on every single wierd cookie and candy I can find, so I can have my sweets.

After we ate and lounged around for a while, we headed off to the cave. One bad thing about reading up on activities before you come to Thailand is you often learn some things you might not want to learn... like the fact 6 people drowned in this cave a few years ago due to the heavy rains. It also didn't help the guides kept looking at the sky and speaking in Thai. This should have warned me that I was going to freak out when we got in so I should just sit this one out... but I am a little slow in the head. We entered the cave and it was pretty big and open. I wasn't expecting there to be a river that runs through it, but it was shallow. Zach got a headlamp. They didn't have enough for everyone, so we had to share. This was part of my downfall, though the terror that was soon to come is also owed to terrible shoes, really sharp rocks, rushing water, and big holes in the ground.

The first few feet was a piece of cake. I even managed to swim in the one part that was over my head. They had a rope for you to hold on to so it was no problem. Then we encountered the climbing. It was a mini waterfall inside the cave that was about 7 feet high. You had to climb over it. Sounds easy enough, yeah? WRONG! The water is gushing down, I have shitty shoes, and there are no places to hold on. My shoes kept flying off, so I went barefoot and clammored over the rocks. This is where bruise 1 and 2 and probably a few of my rock burns on the my arms came from. I do want to point up, I was half way up this waterfall, when I turned around and said I changed my mind. The guide laughed at me and told me to keep going... it was too late haha.

Each big cavern Zach wanted a picture. At this point I am petrified, and I couldn't even talk. The water was up to my knees, and the guide kept saying we have to hurry. Why? Why do we have to hurry? Are we going to die??!!! Argh! So no, I did not take Zach's picture. You may think I am coldhearted, but I was a woman on a mission--- I needed to get the hell out of that cave. It was at this point when I sensed some trouble. Three people from a different group accidentally followed us. They were supposed to only have gone into the mouth of the cave and then turn around. I didn't think it was that big of deal, until the guide said it was dangerous to have more than 5 or so people in the cave at one time. That freaked me out even more, but actually the three people (Spaniards) were hilarious and I was glad they ended up coming with.

I did end up taking one picture of Zach in the cave, mainly because we only had 15 minutes left to walk and I figured we weren't going to die today. When we finally exited, it was raining out. It was clear blue skies when we went in. I am glad we made it out ok. I kissed the ground, had a cigarette (the best one of my life), glared at Zach when he said he couldve stayed in there all day, and we walked on. The walk back to the longtail was pretty tricky too, since it was raining and everything had turned to mud. This is where the rest of my battle wounds took place. Everyone was slipping and sliding down the trail. It was hilarious! I admit though I was the biggest clutz and fell down the most. I think I was everyone's entertainment, but that is ok. It was actually pretty fun, though painful.

Back at the rafthouse, I swam a bit to clean the 3 layers of mud off. We had a delicious fish dinner. The night safari was the next activity, but I was so tired and I hurt so bad that I bowed out. Zach went though and said he saw three eye balls. Apparently there is a one-eyed animal in the jungle, so watch out. Zach stumbled into the rafthouse about 11 (though I think he was under the impression it was much much later than that). He smelled of whisky so I knew it was going to be a long night of snoring.

I would like to make a note that from the moment I laid down at about 7:30 or 8:00 until the next morning, I slept maybe 2 hours. I kept invisioning this huge black cobra sneaking into the my window and curling up to me for warmth. Every noise and twinge I would jerk awake. When Zach came in at 11, he said he would stay awake until I fell asleep, watching for snakes. It worked until his snoring woke me up and that was it for me.

The next morning at 7:00, we all had a morning boat ride around the lake to look for wildlife. I saw my first little monkey from afar, a wild boar, and a deer. We also saw some kingfisher eagles. We went back, had breakfast, and were informed we had a few hours to kill before going on another jungle trek (!!!). Zach and I went kayaking, or rather Zach kayaked and I sat there. Apparently I kept turning the boat the wrong way so he banned me from oaring.

When we returned, our group all decided to forego the jungle trek except Zach and the guy from Belgium. They went trekking and the rest of us (who were still coping with yesterday's trek) sat and read at a different raft place. Apparently Zach saw a gibbon, but otherwise it didn't sound like we missed too much.

We headed back to the dam, where we loaded up our stuff and headed back to the hotel. We showered, washed all the mud off our clothes in the sink, and relaxed on our balcony overlooking the river. It was going to be an early morning minibus ride to the islands, so we headed off to bed pretty early.





Additional photos below
Photos: 60, Displayed: 28


Advertisement



1st December 2010

speedo man
bahahahah bahahahahaha bahahaha speedo man. yes. agreed.

Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0289s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb