Travel Day to Koh Lanta


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Lanta
December 3rd 2010
Published: December 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

I am so far behind it isn't even funny! It has been a combination of bad internet connections, being busy, and trying to have a moment alone with the blog. I know it is weird but I can't type when Zach is right next to me. I told him to start his own blog since he has so many ideas on what he wants to say.

Where I left off.... This day took place on Thanksgiving. We headed out to Koh Lanta on a minibus. It cost 1300 baht total for the both of us from Khao Sok to Krabi to Koh Lanta. We left at 8:30 in the morning and arrived on Koh Lanta by 2:30. It was a nice ride but my IPOD was dead and Zach's was nearing its doom as well, so I napped a bit. It was a nice time for reflections of Thailand since we have been here.

Just some thoughts and musings and maybe some tips for those planning to come here:

1. I could live here... no problem. It is so beautiful and unique but somehow it feels like coming home. The term Same Same but Different is so appropriate, and I can see why people say it all the time.

2. The translations of signs into English are comical and no where close to correct but you get the idea what they mean. It just adds to the charm.

3. Next time we come here I am bringing maple syrup for my pancakes. I can't believe I hate honey but I can't foresee putting chocolate syrup on anymore of my french toast/pancakes... though it does feel like I am eating dessert for breakfast!

4. I realllllly miss fresh coffee. Everything is instant. When I find a place that does fresh brewed, I'm in heaven.

5. It is more expensive then I thought it would be, but you can easily do mid-range on $120/day for two people.

6. The shopping is wonderful unless you are trying to find a tea set. Everytime I ask a shop owner where I can find one, they keep sending me to a restaurant. I can't figure out how to ask them where I can buy the set, not tea. I have even mimed the act of buying a tea set, but still... no luck.

7. The people in the far North and far South are the kindest, friendliest, craziest bunch I have ever met. The people in Bangkok... harder to find that charm.

8. The farther North you go, the cheaper it is.

9. I have been craving Subway and Taco Bell. They don't really exist here.

10. The most expensive meal I have seen is at Burger King. A whopper meal cost about $10. I promise we have yet to eat fast food, but I did buy an overpriced Fanta.

11. Not many Americans here. When we run across one another, it is actually quite nice. We feel a sense of comraderie. Not a lot of the other travellers here like Americans, and you can often tell when someone is talking smack about you. Thailand sees a lot of people from Australia, Japan, China, South Korea, the UK, Sweden, and Holland. Obviously many other people from many other countries come as well, but we have seen the most from these countries.

12. The number one pose for pictures is two peace signs. Every single Asian tourist we have seen does it. It is so cute.

13. I miss my family, friends, work, and of course my animals, but I think I will cry when we leave.

14. As of last week, I have not checked my work email once!!!

15. Buy your beer/water from 7-11. You can drink it on the street and usually can bring it into restaurants. It'll save you money. The brand Leo is our favorite but most people are partial to Singhas. Chang beer is just terrible, I think. You can buy a "40" for about $2.50 from 7-11.

16. Thai cigarettes are about $1.20 a pack. Marlboros are about $2.80. They apparently don't sell cartons.

17. I smell marijuana like all the time. No, I am not toking it up, but I swear everyone else has to be.

18. Fruit shakes are amazing. Fresh squeezed orange juice is amazing. Papaya is still not amazing. The bananas are cute as a button and oh so tiny. They are about the size of my hand (and I have small hands). All the really good fruit is out of season right now (well, really good fruit for me include mangoes, custard apples, lychees, and others). The main ones now are pineapple and watermelon. Dragon fruit also is in season, but I don't care for it as much. It tastes like a kiwi (which I love) but just not as strong of flavor. It doesn't taste bad, just blah.

19. The best massage we ever had was at the massage parlor down the road from CM Blue House in Chiang Mai. It was on soi 6 and I believe called Malu or Melu Massage. It is the most beautiful place, and their Thai massages made me not so scared to get them. However, when the woman did my head massage, she started tugging on my hair (more like ripping it out of my scalp). Otherwise, pure heaven for less than $8.

20. I lost my sweatshirt somewhere and I'm kind of worried when I get home I will freeze to death. I don't have any jackets or anything. I also only have sandles. I probably will come home without any toes.

21. We are trying to buy presents for as many people as possible. If I forget someone, I am sorry. I am running out of room in my suitcase. In fact, I have one item that I have no clue how we are going to get back home... I think I am going to have carry it around.

Well, that is all for now. I am going to try and keep up to date. It is hard though when the internet keeps going in and out!



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.051s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb