Day 16- Last full day in Thailand


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Khao Lak
January 9th 2008
Published: January 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Woke up with some weird looking cyst inside my bottom eyelid...it's anyone's guess what it could be. Maybe a sty, I could have gotten sand in it from the dive boat, who knows? All I do know is it hurts like hell. I grab a couple Ibuprofen and decide not to let it bother me too much. I'll deal with it when I get home.

We finish airing out all the dive gear (don't want any extra water weight!) and pack everything up for our flight home this evening. we've decided to just stay at the bungalows for the day, they allow us to leave our bags in a room in the front office for the day.

So we walked along the beach, sat in the shade and watched people going by. (I didn't want to get too sweaty with nowhere to clean up!) Had some lunch, and finally decided this would be the opportune time to finally take advantage of the massage facilities. But what to choose? They had regular Thai massage, Oil massage, 1 hour foot massage, foot scrubs, manicures and pedicures...a girls mind spins at the possibilities!

I ultimately decided on the oil massage. It was quite comical, the girl doesn't speak English and is trying to explain that I need to remove some of my clothes and put on this sarong. I don't speak much Thai, and have NO idea what she's trying to tell me. So we opt for hand signals. I would have loved to have watched from the sidelines! Frankly speaking, it was one of the best massages I have ever had! maybe it was the setting, hearing the sound of the waves and the smells of the oils she was using, or maybe she's just a very good at her job. Maybe all of the above!

We've arranged for the taxi to pick us up at 4, since our flight is at 7:40 and it takes awhile to get there. he's pretty prompt, and we load all our bags in the car and we're off.

I'd recommend Gerd-Noi's if you like more basic accommodations. The bungalow was clean, the food at the restaurant was really good and inexpensive, and there are shops, a pharmacy and a grocery store nearby.

Our flight is as usual...late. we try to go ahead and check in our luggage at the Northwest counter, but it's already closed and won't open again until 2 A.M. So we go downstairs to find our ride to the hotel. We've booked a room at the Queen's Garden Resort, which is supposed to be about 5 minutes from the airport. Good thing...we get in around 10 and our flight is at 6 A.M. I've paid for them to pick us up...200 Baht each way. The van is there waiting for us, along with another family and a young woman. it really takes us no time at all to get there. The rooms are clean, and I love the shower/toilet combination in the bathroom. The whole bathroom basically is your shower. The shower head is mounted on the wall, and when you want to take a shower you just close the door and turn on the water. Too funny!

We have be at the airport at 4 a.m. so the van picks us up at 3:30. Don't know why...it really is about 5-10 minutes away! get checked in and await our flights home.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0436s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb