And Where Off Again.....


Advertisement
Published: February 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

An early morning bus ride then from Phuket and Im off back up the coast to Phang Nga. Really nice 2 hour drive through the limestone cliffs and jungle which are more and more frequent down here.As I stepped of the bus I was gripped by a Mr Kean who wanted me to sign for his boat tour which Was one of the reasons I was there So I signed up for the following day trip around Phang Nga Bay and to James Bond Island. For now I setttled inton my hotel which had beautiful view of the surrounding said cliffs and the overfriendly staff where quality.Phang Nga is a bit of a one horse town,its a stop off for the islands and surrounding national parks.SO with a day to kill I headed for Tapan Cave (heaven and hell cave) Had no idea what it was was just on the map.Took about an hour walk after I typically walked past it.Was told 1k to the right then when I asked again It was 1 to the left. Eventually found it and what a crazy place,it looked like disney world buddhist style.The was loads of houses where the monks where doing their chores ,a huge cliff to climb up and all these cartoon esque statues staring at you,demi gods,elephants you name it..In true metal fashion I headed for hell first.You walked down this dragons belly (told ya) and come out at the bottom where all these statues where depicticing various acts of torture!! was pretty weird,totally wasnt expecting that.Kinda funny yet kinda strange,everything was written in Thai so I had no Idea what was goin on but there was intestines getting pulled out and limbs cut off...which is always good in my book.
I thought id better find my buddhist balance and even the score and check out heaven,which was a huge climb up to a Wat at the very top and amazing view into the distance of Phang Nga bay.I sat and reflected for a while until going back down to play with the monkeys and peacefully watch these monks going about there day.Not a day Id planned but good one none the less.Apart from one thai guy called "chum" i think who sat next to me for dinner and asked about my tattoo etc.Id then see him a few times over the course of the day where hed shout over come around on his bike then kinda just sit there looking at me hahha I kept my arse faced AWAY from him and tried to be nice...defo a strange day


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 57; dbt: 0.044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb