A spring roll a day keeps the doctor away


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Pai
March 30th 2012
Published: March 30th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Another morning in Pai means getting up and trying to manoevre out of our hut as gracefully as possible, getting out of the mosquito net that we put up ourselves and trying not to bump your head on the low wooden roof. Once that has been successfully negotiated, its time to go about your day!

In the town of Pai, there is a fair selection of street food available - but one man who seems to be constantly selling is the Spring Roll man. Im sure he has a name(TBC). He offers banana spring rolls and vegetable spring rolls. The vegetable one which I have everyday contains so much spice, flavour and veg it is tantamount to an actual meal. It outrageously costs 10 Baht (20 p). In true british style, I could have been had today by him, as I accidently gave him a 500 instead of a 20. As i walked off, he chased me up the street saying "change". Instead of giving him 40p, I gave him a tenner, which I imagine is day or twos work for most people. This happened with Beckys cash card earlier this week too. Thai people have such honesty and respect, which is such an endeering part of their culture. The difference is in their sales approach, they almost let their items sell themselves, and with their calmness and class persuade you into buying from you. Its not quite the same on Khaosan, but still a million miles from the sales pitch of an Egyptian or an Indian.



So today and yesterday have been awesome. In Pai, we are situated in the mountainous North West, surrounded by awesome green ascending vastness. Roads out of the town as you can imagine are windy, but nothing like the hairpin bends about 50km out of town snaking up and down the mountains. The journey here was difficult for me. I never get travel sick, but was nursed like a baby by Becky for about an hour and a half on the journey here, as the bus doesn't account for wimps like me.



Yesterday we swam in a waterfall plunge pool which was sublime. Also bathed in natural hot springs, which was so satisfying. Last night we chilled out in Yellow Sun for a few hours, if you have been here you may know it is among the most popular in the town. Late night and early mornings are a little chilly, but still very warm. Thai's think its freezing, but I'd love to see them trying to get my Golf started at 6:30 am on a December morning in Bromsgrove.



As I am writing, in the internet cafe is the lady owner, who brings her daughter with her to work everyday. She is about 4ish. She has been singing since I started writing this, and now is singing 'Heads, shoulders kness and toes'. I might join in.



Tonight I fancy buying some more stuff to remind me of this place, like some bracelets etc. I look at some travellers and have so much memorabillia or their arms, I want to look like them! Also saw somebody wearing 'Lennon' style glasses today, so may try and get hold of a pair!



People keep saying they like my hair. I am very happy with their comments. I was scared that they would be offended or someting, turns out most people have the same hairstyle as me!



We think we will extend our stay in Pai a few days, as the way of life is so contaigious. You almost feel like you 'belong' here. So until we feel ready to move on, it's more Pai for us!



Plus Becky is amusing me with her version of Thai, she keeps getting words mixed up. I prefer her way of speaking.



Love to all xxx



Hope you all got your petrol today. It costs about 40p a litre here. Ha!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0651s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb