Thai-ered guy.


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
September 8th 2006
Published: September 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well today was day three of my Muay Thai training. It hurts to move. I actually fear the walk home from this internet place. But, for beginners it's not as strenuous as I thought. They know you don't want to get hurt or anything so you just kind of do what you can do and build up from there. I don't go for the 8-12 kilometer mountain runs at 6:30 in the morning. That distance would kill me on level ground let alone uphill the whole way. I run a few k's in the afternoons. I just show up at 7 or 7:30 and skip rope for a while to warm up. Mornings are the best! It seems less than half the students are interested in training in the morning so it's never crowded. You get alot of time with the trainers. Also it's much cooler than the afternoon. I think I must be drinking about 6 liters of water or so every day. It's nuts. I thought it would be cooler this time of year but oh boy I couldn't have been more wrong.
Anyways, about the actual gym itself.....
It's awesome. A Canadain guy who used to be a Muay Thai champ and his Thai wife own it. I stay about 50 feet away in a decent room, but it's a bit expensive. I think I might move and get my own actual apartment, with fridge and stove. A real home for once! The gym is outdoor, but of course with a roof for shade. There's two rings, about 11 bags, a speed bag, some cruddy weight benches, some exercise balls, and concrete floors. They have excellent pads and gloves. And of course, they have two water dispensers, without which we would shrivel up and die.
The trainers are said to be the best, and I believe it. They all fought professionally at Lumpini Stadium in Bangkok, which is a big deal. They're all Thai. Not all of them fight anymore, but the retired ones have done it all their lives and have had around 300 fights. There's a 48 year old guy that could knock my block off in half a second. He was showing me a simple kick and demonstrated on my stomach.....weakly (for him). I thought I pooed in my pants. And if you've seen the movie Ong Bak, I know a guy who is the real deal. He's always practising flips and moves that just don't seem humanly possible. These people live and breathe Muay Thai. It's what they do every day...for 6 hours! You can't get this kind of training for 200 bucks a month anywhere else. You'd be lucky to get 4 hours with a trainer in Canada.
It turns out it's mostly westerners training there. There's alot of people from Canada, a few Americans, some English, Irish, and a few others from all over. The Irish really can fight! Most people have been here a while or have done it before so it makes me look pretty bad I guess. Oh well, I'm having fun and learning to fight. I learned some kicks, knees, elbows, punches, and now I'm just trying to put together some combos. Of course I still have to learn all the clinching and technical stuff. I tell you, after 3 or 4 minutes of doing some padwork with a trainer I almost puked. Tough stuff for a previously lazy traveller!
I tried wearing my board (swimming) shorts the first couple days but it's just doesn't allow freedom of movement for the kicks. So of course I had to get myself a sweet pair of Thai boxing shorts....blue with white stripes. I guess I'll get some pictures and you jerks can all laugh at me with my pasty white thighs (and because you know I'd get a major beatdown, despite looking tough in my shorts).
So I guess it's going well. I think the camp is really good and one of the best things I've done on vacation. One of the guys from our camp just had a fight last night and knocked a Thai guy out in the 3rd round with a spinning back elbow. Wish I was there to see it. The Irish girl in our camp fights tomorrow night. She's like a rock, this broad. I wouldn't fight her. Can't see all the fights though....it costs 10 bucks to get in.
So I guess you'll have to wait for some pictures. I have neglected to take any as usual. My excuse is that even my fingers are too stiff.

Advertisement



11th September 2006

Go Scoot Go!
Just got home from a weekend in Minneapolis and read your blog. It sounds like intensive training. Of course your sore - it's only been a few days. Just don't fight and get beat up by any girls! TeeHee Love Ya, Mom p.s. wear a mouth guard - you need your smile for a few years yet.
14th September 2006

Hey Scott that sounds so awesome!!! How long are you going to be staying there to train for?? Oh and i think you would look super hot in your boxing shorts..
20th September 2006

Quick Coup
I'm not sure whether or not you were a conspirator in that coup to overthrow Thaskin but regardless, congratulations on a swift, well timed and bloodless change of government. Couldn't have done it better myself...
27th September 2006

Right On..
So i've checked out your blog...wow very informative I must say! It's like i'm still there with you. I'm so impressed that you did the training-- it sounds hard core... i'm still waiting on the cheezy boxing short pictures. I'm sure you kicked yourself into awesome shape... i knew you would. Miss travelling so much..and you too.

Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0592s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb