Lumpy head, black eyes, broken toes, sore nose.


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
September 28th 2006
Published: September 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Apologies, but this blog will not be exciting. I've been in one place for the longest time ever in almost eight months. Not much is happening besides doing the Muay Thai training. My youngest brother Derek came out to joing me in my "travels" but so far it's been pretty lame for him and there's been no travelling. After training in the morning I'm too tired to really do anything cool. Everyone just sleeps. Then we get up again for training in the afternoon, shower, eat, watch a movie or something and go to bed. Some of the guys are taking a break and heading south for some islands so maybe Derek can go with and I won't have to worry about being so boring while I stay back and train.
The camp has been a pretty cool experience. I've definately taken a liking to being beaten up. It's not so exciting punching or kicking away at a bag all day, but when you get in the ring for some padwork or sparring it's alot of fun. About 10 days ago I was caught off guard by one of the trainers. Unfortunately for me he's not just some guy holding the pads. He's Den Keamon, a northern Thailand champion with around 300 fights. I wasn't fast enough blocking with my left leg and before I had my stance again he kicked my right leg out from under me. I crumpled over on my toes and had the sickly feeling like that foot wasn't going to be allright. Half of that foot turned a lovely shade of purple and swelled up so I took a couple days off. Then all I could do for the rest of the week was some regular boxing. The two small toes on that foot are still killing me and they're all fat and funny looking so I think I might have boken something or screwed up some tendons. Crappy part is it was too sore to do any running or kicking for a week so I missed out on some precious time when I could have been getting in shape and practising some kicks.
I also had fun sparring with a big Swedish guy who has been doing Muay Thai for 5 years. He must have had fun too because all he did was simply kick my ass. But I find that's the best way to learn. And I got cool souvenirs like a lumpy forehead and a black eye to remind me to keep my hands up.
Basically I have discovered that a month is not enough time to even get the technique down. Everyone gets hurt. Everyone! So you end up having to give a part of your body some time to heal. And then before you know it, the month is over and you missed out on alot of time you had planned to be training.
So don't expect me to come home a tough guy! It's not going to happen. Sometime I will come back to Thailand for training and allow myself a few months or more and possibly have a fight. At least now I know what I'm up against and it ain't easy.
Since I've been here quite a few guys from the camp have had fights, almost all of them won. A young Thai guy put an opponent down with multiple knees to the midsection and a devastating finishing knee to the sternim. A guy from New Zealand who's been here over 2 years knocked a guy out with a spinning back elbow, which I missed and wish I had gone to. I can't go to all of the fights because they charge too much for westerners to get in. It's about ten bucks every time I go. So I go and watch when a friend is fighting. A guy from Ireland had his first fight and won in the 5th round with a knockout knee to the guy's face. That was exciting to see him win his first fight. A bunch of us went and we were all sweatting from cheering and shouting so much. Then a big dissapointment this week. A guy from Calgary with alot of training experience but no previous fights got knocked out with an elbow to the cheek. The fight only lasted about 30 seconds. He's lucky he wasn't cut but he has a problem with his teeth now. That was crappy to see him lose after watching how hard he trained leading up to the fight. Tonight a big guy from North Dakota has his first fight. His nickname is "Panda" because of the black eyes he is so famous for getting. So screw it, I'm going to have some beers for once and go watch the fights tonight.

Oh yeah. Sometime I'll have some pictures of the gym and stuff for y'all. I know I'm lazy but geeze I'm so sick of pictures.



Advertisement



28th September 2006

Ouch!
Gee, it sounds like pain to me! Nice to see a blog for a change. I hope Derek isn't getting too bored.. Maybe it's not a good time for training with a bad foot - missing out on the majority of training. Please get us the pictures that you've been promising us! Please don't wreck your teeth! Remember poor Sergej and all his trouble that he is still having!!!! Luv Mom
29th September 2006

Lumpy Head?
OK...sounds like you might have taken a little bit of a beating..but you're tough. and i'm sure the girls love the bumps and bruises. I just heard that there was a thyphoon in Phillipines today. good thing you're not there. I love reading your blog. It's so great. I hope you're taking pics..you know i'm not there to take 100s anymore. love ya, Rhi xo
30th September 2006

HAHA!
Okay you said this blog was going to be boring...wrong!! Haha i laughed my ass off at reading how bad your getting your ass kicked haha!!! I think it's so funny but i'm happy that you got to experience that and that you liked it!! Love you.

Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0565s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb