Chiang Mai (25-30 Jul 12)


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
July 25th 2012
Published: July 29th 2012
Edit Blog Post

After another quick overnight transit back in Bangkok, I finally made my much-awaited return to Northern Thailand. I had of course been here just two weeks before, in Chiang Rai, as part of the plan crossing the border at Mae Sai from Myanmar, but I zoomed straight down to Bangkok to catch my grandmother who was there in transit. So after a 15h overnight A/C train ride (much, much more comfortable than the extremely *memorable* ride from Mandalay to Katha in Myanmar I must add), I was finally back in the North, in the old Lanna Kingdom and ancient capital of Chiang Mai.

Chiang Mai was certainly very much as I'd expected -- charming, quieter, and much more laid-back than crazy Bangkok. The Old City in the centre was built within a square fort, enclosed by crumbling walls and a moat, and reminded me a lot of Mandalay. Only low-rise buildings within the Old City, but even outside one would see only the odd skyscraper. I could see why people would fall in love with the place, as it exudes all the Thai charm with less of the hassle (traffic, pollution, touts, crowds etc). Despite being an ancient city of rich history, the seemingly largely-young population of university students and travellers gives the place a youthful vibe. Even the sleazy undercurrent ubiquitous to all large Thai cities seemed less blatant here, or at least certainly compared to the likes of Bangkok and Pattaya.

I knew I would be spending about a week in the North before returning to Bangkok, and originally planned to check out some of the other northern town/ cities that I'd read and heard about, in particular Pai and Mae Hong Son. But I felt so comfortable in Chiang Mai that I ended up just spending all my time there! Such behaviour is certainly a contrast to my earlier travelling habits, which would have seen me press on to the other cities. But I guess my attitude towards travel has evolved somewhat, and I'm no longer hell-bent on seeing as much as I can in as little time as possible. Mae Hong Son and Pai can wait till next time. Anyway, I certainly do hope I'll be back in Northern Thailand again in the not-too-distant future!

For those who follow my blog regularly, take note that I'll be "based" in Bangkok for the next several weeks for so, as I've signed up for a class. As such, I won't be blogging the mundane details, though of course if I come across anything of particular interest, I'll put it up. I will however be making some trips out of Bangkok over the weekends, the details of which I hope will be meaningful enough to publish!


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Wat Phra SinghWat Phra Singh
Wat Phra Singh

That's a wax figure!
Anusarn Walking StreetAnusarn Walking Street
Anusarn Walking Street

Very different from the one in Pattaya!
Kway Tiauw BpaetKway Tiauw Bpaet
Kway Tiauw Bpaet

I don't normally rave about food but this was just about the best duck noodle soup I've ever had, complete with solidified pig's blood (for decades no longer available in Singapore because of preparation hygiene reasons)! Made all the more special as I'd randomly stumbled upon the stall at Dtalaat Pratu.
Chiang Mai ZooChiang Mai Zoo
Chiang Mai Zoo

Feeding YK!
No Alcohol ZoneNo Alcohol Zone
No Alcohol Zone

Must be a really small zone cos this was spotted along the road just north of the Old City where there are bars and pubs galore!
Insect MuseumInsect Museum
Insect Museum

A somewhat bizarre three-storey shophouse with a mixed collection of preserved bugs, lizards and butterflies, alongside paintings and woodcraft! The founder is apparently (and not surprisingly) a leading insect expert in Thailand, and once allowed 459 different types of mosquitoes to feast on his blood in the name of research!
Din Dee Cafe @ University Art CentreDin Dee Cafe @ University Art Centre
Din Dee Cafe @ University Art Centre

A lovely little cafe set up by a Japanese expat who travelled abroad for the first time in 1998 to Thailand, came to Chiang Mai, and ended up staying here since! She was actually doing the serving/ cashiering herself when I was there! Home also to at least three very cute (and well-fed/ tame) cats as I observed!
Thaksin in Chiang MaiThaksin in Chiang Mai
Thaksin in Chiang Mai

No prizes for guessing who's the boss in the town of his birth!
Khao SoiKhao Soi
Khao Soi

It took me four days but I finally got down to trying the local speciality, a mild chicken curry. And it was bloody good! Aroi maak!


Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0495s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb