Bangkok & Chiang Mai


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
September 9th 2011
Published: September 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

So after a few hiccups to begin with my trip is finally really getting underway. I spent 2 nights in Bangkok on Khao San Rd before making my way up to Chiang Mai. I think I will spend some more time in Bangkok at the end of my trip and I will probably enjoy it more then when I have my travel wits about me more. So I didnt do much there in those couple of days.

The train to Chiang Mai was not as exciting as I hoped it would be. In the 2 bunks above me was an Israeli couple who just talked to each other the whole time. On the bed opposite was Tun, a girl from Burma, who was on her way home after spending 2 months in Belgium. She was pretty tired so went to sleep quite early. I got bored and did the same but didn't sleep very well anyway.

WE arrived in Chiang Mai 2 hours late and i went about finding my guesthouse. After someone sent me the wrong way I eventually found it and checked in. It is pretty basic, cold showers, squat toilet and probably the hardest mattress I have ever slept on, I think it is made of wood, but hey I can't complain, it is a bed. Yesterday I just spent the day wondering around the city, got some good photos of a couple of temples (will have to find a card reader so I can upload them). Also found a good little place to eat just around the corner, food is cheap and you get a lot of it plus the lady who runs it is really nice. I have to say it made me laugh when a rabbit made it's way through the restaurant and no one even bat an eyelid. Then went out with Tun to a reggae bar she goes to whenever she is here last night, was good but very quiet so just ended up coming home to bed.

Today I got a tuk tuk driver to drive me around for a bit and he ended up taking me to the Tiger Kingdom as well which was good, you get to just sit around with various sizes of tiger, the biggest ones they have were about 2 years old and 150kg and one of the trainers say they get to about double that, I'd like to think Puddy would still give them a run for their money. Had lunch when I got back and met 2 guys, Scott and Clint, from England and Australia and swapped numbers with them and I think we're going to head to the night bazaar tonight. Also I am thinking of moving to the same guest house Scott is in when a room becomes available there, it is a bit nicer for the same price.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0674s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb