Chiang Mai Day 4: Baan Chang Elephant Park


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
November 23rd 2010
Published: November 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

NOTE: Z has more pics that I will upload on Thursday. I forgot his camera.

Monday was our experience of a lifetime. We got to go see the elephants! This was the most expensive day trip so far: 2400 baht per person for the day. It included transportation, lunch, and bareback riding on the elephants.

Baan Chang is pretty special because it isn't a sideshow act for elephants. There are no football games or painting or circus tricks. The elephants are well taken care of and they never haul tourists around on those heavy saddle things (they look like a wicker chair on their backs). The owner who started this park did it to rescue elephants from the abuse of other parks and private owners. Elephants in Thailand don't have a lot of space to be free/wild, that is why there are so many parks. Many of the parks though in Thailand are basically circus acts.

You can read more about the park at: www.baanchangelephantpark.com.

The first part of the day is mahout training. A mahout is the elephants trainer/partner. They take care of the elephant throughout their life and is with them pretty much 24/7. It is a special bond. We learned the following commands: on/off the elephant is nonlong; left/right is quai quai with a light kick to the opposite ear of the way you want to turn; bai is to go; how is to stop. We each got a chance to sit on the elephants and steer the elephants on our own. Pretty amazing! It is hard to describe though, so again I will let the pictures do the talking.

We had lunch, but I must admit I was feeling pretty nasty. I was thinking I did end up catching the, ahem, traveller's diarrhea. You know that feeling when you are really hungry and you get that pain in your stomach, but then it goes away when your stomach growls?? Well I had that pain without the stomach growls. I ate a few bites of rice and that was it. Another American on our trip gave me a prescription-strength Motrin and it appeared to do the trick. Small world: one of the American couples from California grew up in Madison, Wisconsin!

By the way, I am going to kill Zach. he is looking over my shoulder trying to "help" me blog but really he is trying to be the grammar police. Actually, he has been helping me and I know it. Just saying...

Ok back to the story. After lunch we actually got to ride the elephants into the jungle. The way up Z was the driver and I was the passenger. I do believe it should have been the other way around because on the way down I was the driver and it was scary as hell. You go down a reallllly steep hill. You hold on to the elephant's head with one hand and have one hand behind you holding onto the rope. My arm felt like it was going to fall off, the sweat was dripping, and Zach kept grabbing the back of my shirt to hold me. The mahouts kept asking me if I was all right. I probably looked like a douche.

Finally we got back down and headed to the water pit to bathe the elephants. This does sound wonderful doesn't it? Now imagine getting in the water with these giant animals who eat a large amount of food and shit a huge amount of well.... shit. You are in the water with all that. Not so pleasant now, eh? It was great anyways, but some poo started drifting my way and I was kind of distracted. The mahouts did scoop it all up but a little shit pieces still escaped. It was still worth it to scrub those majestic creatures... and to stare into their eyes. They seem so gentle and smart. I was a bit nervous though they were going to stand up and squish me but they never did (obviously, since I am still alive 😉 )

We got out after awhile and headed to the showers. I wanted a boiling hot shower to disinfect but I had to share with Zach so it ended up being lukewarm. Z got a mahout outfit (see pics for what they look like) and I got a shirt to commemorate.

We headed back to the hotel for food and sleep! And that is the end of our full days in Chiang Mai. As a side note, Chiang Mai is an amazing city with a great vibe. I can see why so many people from other countries move here.


Additional photos below
Photos: 80, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



24th November 2010
P1000833

zack
awesome pictures! looks like z is having a ball. also looks like you 2 have "gone native". really blend in. love mom and dad
26th November 2010

Fun!
You guys look like you are having such a great time! I am glad you are doing these blog entries, it really helps you capture this AMAZING trip!

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0341s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb