Chiang Mai Day 3: Doi Suthep and Sunday Walking Market


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
November 23rd 2010
Published: November 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

I apologize I am a few days behind on my blogs. The internet was still closed this morning (Tuesday) in Chiang Mai before we headed out to the airport, and my plan was to blog Sunday and Monday's events this morning. Oh well! Also, internet in Khao Sok (where we are now) is super expensive, so will just make a few notes to remember everything and blog the full details in Koh Lanta on Friday.

So! Sunday Zach lounged around all day drinking beers and socializing, while I insisted I wanted to go to Doi Suthep. I went to the North gate to get a songthaew, but I apparently had no luck. I flagged one down who said he would take me there for 500 baht. By now, I was hot, tired, and sick of walking, so I got in, thinking songthaews don't rip you off (since they are an equivalent to a bus). I got about 100 feet or so when he starts talking on his cell phone, saying "American" "Falang" and "Doi Suthep." I got a feeling in my gut that something wasn't right, which was confirmed when he handed me his cell phone. I'm like, who the hell am I talking to? The guy on the other end asked where I was going. I said Doi Suthep, why do you want to know? He said, ohhh traffic bad. I cut him off, told the guy to stop the songthaew and said this falang no go. He got pretty pissy but let me out. I then walked back the way I came, and ended up finding the right songthaew: 50 baht a person, minimum 10 people to Doi Suthep. There was already 6 people in there so I only had to wait a few minutes. By now it was an hour of walking, so I was pretty fed up with Doi Suthep already and I hadn't even gone yet.

The ride to Doi Suthep is crazy and not for the faint of heart. The road never once goes straight; it is all curves and twists being taken at 50 mph, at least. Plus, the songthaew smelled like exhaust, which didn't help my car sickness. We finally got there and I had the option to take the 300+ stairs or ride the cable car. Needless to say, I took the cable car up. Yeah, I could have lied and said I was not wimpy and took the stairs, but there is a lot!!

I stuck around Doi Suthep 20 minutes. I do believe I was templed out at that point. Plus, when the top of the temple has a convenience store, it takes the magic out of it. It did have some good views though, but the amount of tourists and all the tacky souvenirs turned me off. I headed back down (cable car of course, no stairs for me!) and got a songthaew for 60 baht.

I went right to the internet cafe to blog the previous Friday and Saturday events, but was so ready for a nap I didn't do Sunday's. Of course, no time for a nap because as soon as I got back, it was time for the Sunday Walking Market! We followed the Holland couple with their cutie patootie little boy to the market. It was only about 4:30 or so, so the crowds weren't in full force by then. Everyone was hungry though, so we stopped at a small restaurant and had soup. By the time we got done, everyone in the entire city converged onto the walking market (as well as a parade). I ended up being the only one who actually wanted to shop so we all parted ways: Z went with the Holland couple, and I took on the task of buying all the souvenirs (oh how sad, an opportunity to shop!)

The Sunday Walking Market is huge and one of the best markets in Chiang Mai. It is less touristy and has less crap than the Night Bazaar. The touristy part could have fooled me though since it took me forever to get through it. I was stepped on, pushed, kicked, pulled... you name it. Though I have to admit, I was doing the same thing :0. I got almost everyone's presents except for my mom-in-law, my dad, Z's daughter, and my friend's hubby. Reason being: my mom-in-law wanted some very specific items, none of which existed at this market; my dad is impossible to shop for; Z went his separate way and wanted him to pick the gift out; and I plan on getting the hubby something from the beaches!

I didn't spend a crap load of money: probably about $60 or so on 10 people. So if you get a gift-- yes, it was cheap, but take no offense. I bargained my ass off for those prices and EVERYTHING here is cheap. My sweat equity is worth something though, right??

Two very important things happened while I was on the walking street: I got the best foot massage ever for 60 baht (about $1.20) and I found my mango and sticky rice (it was heaven in my mouth). Walked back to the hotel all by my lonesome in the dark, but I never felt unsafe. I also didn't get lost which is amazing. I was just about to zonk out when Zach leaned into the window and asked if I was still up, wanting in. He grabbed his beer, went back down, and I passed out. Tomorrow was an early start to what we would find to be the best day of our vacation thus far.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



24th November 2010
P1000781

doggie
what is smokey doing there? this is so cute. love it. mom

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0308s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb