Cooking & Fiddles


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
January 26th 2009
Published: February 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Not much to report on Chiang Mai. It is not as big or busy as Bangkok so it was nice to take a bit of time to relax.... and go fiddle hunting! We left our fiddles at home as we thought it would be too much of a hassle to carry them around, but the absence of our instruments are having some strange effects on us... it got to the stage where we were both listening to fiddle music on our mp3 players whilst playing air fiddle, not a cool look! So we decided to go on the hunt for a fiddle, but this is not so easy in South East Asia. Nevertheless, persistance is the key and I managed to find a semi decent one in a sea of mass produced Chinese, and overpriced European fiddles. Since leaving Chiang Mai however, I have discovered that the bugger that sold it to me gave me a case that is too small to fit in a full size bow, so he stuck a 3/4 size bow in it and put a 4/4 sticker on it. We discovered this when Michael bought a bow in Bangkok and it wouldn't fit in the case. Our problem solving skills came in handy though and we cut a chunk out of the case so his full size bow fits in perfectly noo!
We also did a Thai cooking class which was great fun. In the morning our teacher took us around the local market, explaining to us some of the ingredients which we would be using. We made 5 dishes each in total so we didn't have to eat again for a day! I got to do a flambe which was pretty cool. Our teacher told Michael to stand infront of me and take a photo. My flambe was that flippin big it nearly set the roof and Michael on fire! He got a photo but I think he was shaking with terror so it is a bit blurry 😊 After the class we each got a nice Thai cook book from our teacher. Straight after the class we bought my fiddle and in my excitement I must have left the cooking books somewhere. Oops! Michael bid on a fiddle on e-bay, not thinking for a second that he would get it, but sure enough he put in the highest bid and he is now waiting patiently to get it delivered to our friend in Brisbane so we can pick it up there. I think once he picks it up he'll be like a kid on Christmas day!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Bugs in a bowl eating popcornBugs in a bowl eating popcorn
Bugs in a bowl eating popcorn

Michael thought it was pot pouri then realised it was moving
What a flambe!What a flambe!
What a flambe!

Nearly set the roof on fire
We made that!We made that!
We made that!

I left the cooking books we got in my excitement when I bought my fiddle. Oops.


Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0591s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb