Chiang Mai - Ride The Wild River + Pandas - A Day at the Zoo


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
September 30th 2008
Published: October 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

White Water near Chiang Mai White Water near Chiang Mai White Water near Chiang Mai

This is what I call fun !!!

Third Time Lucky in Chiang Mai



I have created a blog entry about Chiang Mai for previous visits so this one will not be too in depth. My main reason for visiting the "Rose of the North' was to take a white water rafting trip in rainy season which is nearing it's completion for this year. I checked into the CM Blue Guesthouse in the old part of the moated city and immediatelly booked my rafting trip for the next day with Siam River Adventures.

The pictures will tell the story but after two previous attempts at rafting in Thailand with dissappointing results I finally had the chance to take the trip in rainy season and the Mae Taeng river was near it's bone crushing best with Level 4 rapids providing some heart pumping action (Level 6 is the fastest and considered very highly dangerous).

My companions on the tour were all great fun and included four British girls, Pippa and Martin on their honymoon from Malta, George a very adventurous guy from Australia who would be kayaking the river and Joshua another very nice guy from Hong Kong. Our guide was Nuk and after the 1.5 hour
Hello Sailor !!!Hello Sailor !!!Hello Sailor !!!

OK you don't need to say anything !!!
trip north east of Chiang Mai and travelling along a very tricky section of road to get to the rafting camp we stopped a few times to walk to the river to check out the main rapids and then had a nice Thai lunch. Siam River Adventures run a very professional operation and are highly recommended, providing excellent rafting lessons and safety instructions.

The rafting trip was amazing and was similar to my experience in New Zealand about 30 years ago so it has been a long time since I have had such white water rafting action. It really is an adrenalin rush and I will be coming back for some more rafting trips in the future, maybe staying for a few days next time and trying some other rivers in the north. I did hurt my leg when we were swimming and hit my thigh on a rock but after a Thai massage today I am starting to walk a bit better and should be fine in another day or so when I return to Bangkok.

Chiang Mai Zoo - Pandas



Wit my leg fairly sore after the rafting trip I decided to take it easy today and visit the Chiang Mai Zoo which is about 10 minutes north of the old city by the local bus. I have not seen giant Pandas before and there are two at the Chiang Mai Zoo. I must have been impressed because I stayed in their enclosure for about 45 minutes watching them eat and go about their business entertaining the onlookers. The Pandas really are interesting and it is worth a trip to the zoo just to see them.

My main advise about the zoo is to catch the small bus between the exhibits and to get a map at the information booth before entering. There are signs in english but a bit more work could be done to explain the layout of the zoo to the unwary tourist, especially with my dodgy leg. I did heaps of walking before I realised the distance between the exhibits and most of it up and down steep climbs. Make sure you visit the walk through bird aviary and waterfall which is another highlight of the zoo. They have nearly finished the large new aquarium complex and there is a lot of work happening to keep improving the zoo so I am sure I will return to have another look one day.

On my last night I visted the huge Mandalay disco which is considered "not for foreigners" with it's 300 baht entry fee for farangs (foreigners). After seeing a couple of drunk tourists trying to impose themselves on the locals I can understand why the management have charged high prices to keep the trouble makers out of the place. After midnite the music and entertainment was great with various musicians, singers and dancers playing hip hop, heavier rock and some quieter Thai pop songs.

Click on the pics if you want a larger view and select next to see all the pictures.




Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Chuang ChuangChuang Chuang
Chuang Chuang

Male Panda -135 KG - a much larger animal than I expected
Lin HuiLin Hui
Lin Hui

Female Panda
The Walk Through Bird aviaryThe Walk Through Bird aviary
The Walk Through Bird aviary

This bird was huge !!!


1st October 2008

White Water Rafting
Hi Leon,Sounds like youre having a fantastic time again always lots to see and do especially those all night discos. Your Thai family certainly take good care of you. Glad the weather isnt too rainy. Take care Anthea.
2nd October 2008

Hi Anthea
As always I have been having a very interesting and fun time here. Friday night I am heading back to Korat and the village, leaving from Bangkok. My friend's Grandfather passed away last night so I am not sure how everthing will be there so I guess that I will find out how a Buddhist family will deal with bereavement. Grandma is the nicest lady so I feel very sad for her and Grandpa seemed like a gentle, good man the few times that I met him recently when he was very ill. Alll the best Leon in Thailand

Tot: 0.161s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0848s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb