But wait - there's more...


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
September 11th 2004
Published: September 11th 2004
Edit Blog Post

I'm deleting the text from my old travel blogs here, but leaving the pictures for posterity. Or something.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Queen Sirikit's GardensQueen Sirikit's Gardens
Queen Sirikit's Gardens

The view from the front steps of the resort.
Waterfall and Ajan DonWaterfall and Ajan Don
Waterfall and Ajan Don

A lovely huge waterfall, and our fearless guide, the dorky-but-loveable Don McCaskill.
Jungle riverJungle river
Jungle river

All the running water here is very brown - kind of clay-coloured. My Thai family was astounded when I showed them a picture taken in the Rockies of a clear blue lake.
Orchid and a macro-lensOrchid and a macro-lens
Orchid and a macro-lens

I took pictures of about a million different orchids, experimenting with lenses and flashes. Many didn't turn out very well, but I've got 3 or 4 that are pretty nice.
Red orchidsRed orchids
Red orchids

I'm really into orchids. They're awesome.
Spikey bambooSpikey bamboo
Spikey bamboo

This is some hardcore bamboo. I also took about a million pictures of this.
Bamboo canopyBamboo canopy
Bamboo canopy

The bamboo grows really, really tall in some places, and makes a sort of forest-covering.
Big deadly-looking spiderBig deadly-looking spider
Big deadly-looking spider

Does anyone know what kind of spider this is? It was hanging out on a sign in the reserve - note the really cool zig-zaggy web it spun.
At the resortAt the resort
At the resort

From left: Jen, me (looking at something else), Lara, Ashlee and Hollis.
Jungle wildlifeJungle wildlife
Jungle wildlife

I found this kittie at the resort - it jumped out of a bush and I thought it was a rabbit, so I named it Bunny. We hung out by the pool and Bunny curled up on my lap and fell asleep.
The famThe fam
The fam

Meet my Thai family. From left: On (my Thai brother, age 10), myself, Pee Nong, Ashlee (who lives across the street), An (my Thai sister, age 14), and Mai (who lives down the street, but hangs out at our house most of the time, age 16). On cracks me up - he doesn\'t speak any English, but communicates with me through various forms of slapstick humuor. Pee Nong calls him my boyfriend.
On being hilarious.On being hilarious.
On being hilarious.

I took a candid picture of On doing something (probably eating - that's what he's usually doing) and when he noticed he jumped up and ran to the bedroom, smeared a bunch of white make-up on his face, and then came back and posed for me. His sister told me he had to go "freshen up".
Pee Nong blowing out her candles.Pee Nong blowing out her candles.
Pee Nong blowing out her candles.

Trick candles that keep re-lighting themselves: funny in any language.


Tot: 0.239s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb