Arriving in Chiang Mai


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
September 7th 2004
Published: September 7th 2004
Edit Blog Post

I'm deleting the text from my old travel blogs here, but leaving the pictures for posterity. Or something.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

View from inside the song-tao.View from inside the song-tao.
View from inside the song-tao.

This was our first experience with Chiang Mai's rain, and it's "red cars," aka: song-taos.
Getting in the song-taoGetting in the song-tao
Getting in the song-tao

It took four of them to get us, plus all our stuff, to the university.
Eating bugs in the market.Eating bugs in the market.
Eating bugs in the market.

Yes, this grasshopper is about the size of my finger.
My street.My street.
My street.

Ashlee's house is the white one on the right, and mine is directly across from hers. I'll take a better picture soon, but my house is quite hidden by trees and a gate and a big cement wall.
The road to schoolThe road to school
The road to school

My house is about a half hour drive from school, and the main road is regularly flooded. September is the mid-point between the hot season and the rainy season, so there's a lot of heat and a lot of rain right now.
The Ping RiverThe Ping River
The Ping River

The water level in the river has been steadily rising for the past two weeks. This part of the river is about a ten minute walk from my house.
Obligatory self-portraitObligatory self-portrait
Obligatory self-portrait

Just before bedtime at my new Thai family's house.


Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0347s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb