My First Holiday Season in Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
December 25th 2013
Published: December 27th 2013
Edit Blog Post

The holiday season in Bangkok is nothing like what I experienced in China. Here, the decorating starts early, but it all looks like it would back home. I can't lie, it's nice to see a Xmas tree and think how it looks nice, rather than wondering what went wrong with the lights. It's also easy to find Xmas decorations for sale. There are plenty of expensive western meals at restaurants and hotels through the season. And for those who want church services, there are several around the city in English. All of it adds up to a delicious anticipation I haven't had in years.

The biggest difference, for me, was what I will simply refer to as the Great Expat Migration. In China, everyone is still working the whole month of December, some on Xmas, some not. (Teachers usually were given the day off. But only one. At least, until Chinese New Year.) Here, all of my friends have multiple days or weeks off and have left go to home and visit family or travel. I'm actually working on Xmas like it's any other Wednesday. I don't think I ever realized how much this would bother me... until this year.

I am quite fortunate to have a friend in town from Shanghai and we were able to meet for a great dinner with lots of laughs. And hugs.

So, Santa came and went. My new tree's new lights fizzled out late Xmas Eve. And I had to work. All the anticipation came to a rather sudden end. I think this was the shortest holiday season ever.



But, a happy ending: I found rainbow colored tree lights on sale the day after Xmas! I bought two, just to be safe.



Peace and Joy to all in the New Year!


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

OutsideOutside
Outside

All lit up!
Santa came!Santa came!
Santa came!

He does a better job every year!
Xmas dinner with friends!Xmas dinner with friends!
Xmas dinner with friends!

Can you guess who lives in Bangkok and who lives in frigid Shanghai?
Dinner!Dinner!
Dinner!

Sea bass with lime sauce, curried crab, baby clams in holy basil, shrimp with mushrooms. A bit odd to not eat Chinese food and make jokes about it like I normally do.


Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0348s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb