A Rendezvous with Thailand’s Superb Trio: Bangkok, Phuket and Pattaya


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
November 20th 2013
Published: November 20th 2013
Edit Blog Post

After an eye-opening, appealing and stimulating experience in India, it was time for me to explore the varied charms of another equally riveting destination - Thailand. I arrived in this Fareast nation with great tales of risqué and beauty playing in my mind. City of Angels, Bangkok; Pearl of the South, Phuket; and Thai Tropical Paradise, Pattaya – all destinations in this country are so incredibly popular and so much has been written about them that it feels I have been to all these places already!


Bangkok



Thai capital, Bangkok is so full with attractions and activities that the city literally forced me to fall in love with it. After spending a few days in the Thai city, I realised that holiday to Bangkok is nothing without soaking in the mesmeric beauty of the Chao Praya River; exploring the majesty of the Grand Palace; gaping in wonder at the grandness of the Emerald Buddha; getting swayed in the religious fervour of Wat Pho and Wat Arun; and getting impressed by the brilliant architecture of Jim Thompson's House. Other superb attractions that caught my attention in the city included Vimanmek Palace, National Museum and Phra Sumen Fort.



I initially had no plans to shop and splurge. But the city’s stimulating shopping scene devouring with attractive retail offerings literally forced me to shop and find that right price of souvenir to decorate my mantelpiece. Shopping at Chatuchak weekend market, Floating Market and night market certainly make for the key highlight of my visit to the city. City’s heavenly flavours and cuisines further made me commit that capital sin of gluttony!


Phuket



After my trip to the Thai capital city, it was time to take on the Pearl of the South, Phuket. One of the Thailand’s most popular holiday destinations, Phuket seems like a place from a fairy tale that glitters with powdery white palm fringed beaches, a riveting world of attractions and some of the most entertaining holiday activities. I spent my days soaking in the breathtaking views of Phang Nga Bay, exploring Sino-Portuguese splendours at the Old Town, discovering the unrivalled gorgeousness of the Kamala Beach and lounging around the beaches to get that perfectly bronzed body.



It is in Phuket that I was able to treat my taste buds to a staggering range of flavours and food experiences that add glittering stars to the popularity of this island. In fact, the appetizing flavours and aromas oozing out of street side eateries in the city still fill my fancies. But the one thing that surprised me to the core was Phuket’s wild and raunchy nightlife!


Pattaya



Thailand’s popular tropical paradise of Pattaya was my next stopover! With its powdery white sands, thrilling water sports and day trip opportunities, Pattaya simply bowled me over! Spending time discovering the laidback charm of Pattayan fishing villages, finding that perfect corner on the golden sands, heading out for suba diving adventure and treating my taste buds to amazing flavours ensured that I have a whale of a time in Pattaya. Other key highlights of my Pattaya trip include the miniature city of Mini Siam, the bustling Floating Market, the amazing Elephant Village and the incredible Underwater World.



Pattaya is immensely popular for its raunchy and wild nightlife scene. The destination is virtually flooded with neon-lit discotheques, nightclubs, karaoke bars and open air bars. But the key highlight of Pattaya’s nightlife scene undoubtedly is the transvestite cabaret shows. These shows ensure entertaining evenings for visitors with live music and dance.



I further visited the culturally stimulating destination of Chiang Mai; naturally gorgeous Thai destination, Krabi and Thai tropical paradise, Koh Samui. I captured some fascinating moments in these superb Thai destinations but it is a story for some other time. For now, I hop aboard my flights to Singapore from Bangakok’s Suvarnabhumi International Airport for another exciting chapter of my world travels!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.041s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb