Mumbai and Goa – Two Sparkling Gems of India by the Arabian Sea


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Maharashtra » Mumbai
November 8th 2013
Published: November 8th 2013
Edit Blog Post

After a long trip through the Royal Heart of India, Delhi, Agra, Jaipur and Udaipur, it was time for me to board my flights to India’s Powerhouse of Entertainment, Mumbai and country’s Premier Beach Destination, Goa.



Mumbai



I arrived in Mumbai on flights from Udaipur and checked into the Best Western Emerald Hotel in Juhu area that is popular for its beach – perhaps the most popular beach in Mumbai. The location is pretty close to the airport and I was spared the long and tiring commute after I disembarked my flights at the airport. The hotel is a three star budget accommodation but features fairly impressive facilities and amenities. Hotel staff is caring and friendly and I found the room service quite prompt. I wasn’t equally impressed with the dining though; but I guess it is irrelevant for travellers like me who would rather try the local delicacies in eateries and restaurants that dot Mumbai just like the locals do!



Mumbai baffled me with a smorgasbord of attractions and activities. There are endless choices in the city and a careful planning is a must at the time of booking flights tickets and holidays to this versatile destination. While a number of attractions in the city require entrance tickets or fees, there are plenty which are free.



Some of the most important places to visit on Mumbai tour include historic Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus (formerly Victoria Terminus), the awe inspiring St. Thomas Cathedral, the fabulous Hanging Gardens, the colossal Gateway of India and the pre-Victorian Town Hall. All these along with plenty of other attractions reflect the British heritage in the city. In fact, South Mumbai’s popular walking tours will expose you to some of the most beguiling sightseeing in the city. I also took a ferry ride for a journey back in time to the historical Elephanta caves. The Heritage hotel of Taj Mahal Palace, the culturally rich Jehangir Art Gallery and the magnificent Haji Ali shrine are just some attractions that would definitely remain the highlight of my trip to the city. Mumbai’s seductive beaches including Juhu, Aksa, Girgaum and Marvé were tempting nonetheless and seductive in equal measures.



Goa



My domestic air ticket aboard Spice Jet flight to Goa turned out to be my ticket to unparalleled enjoyment and fun. My next stopover, India’s premier beachside paradise, and the smallest state certainly became the key highlight of my Indian sojourn so far. After disembarking my flight at Dabolim International Airport in Goa, I drove to my hotel Golden Sands that is located some 15 Km from the airport and provides easy connectivity to the South Goa beaches. With the impeccable services, the hotel provided maximum bang for the bucks I spent on accommodations and air tickets.



Over the many days spent in Goa, I explored the legendary beaches that this city state is popular the world over for and lures hordes of sun worshippers and beach lovers to book air tickets and holidays to this Indian Ocean paradise. I spent my days lounging around these beautiful beaches, taking a leisurely stroll and enjoying spectacular views of sun set. Some of the most beautiful beaches that I explored during my trip include Baga, Anjuna, Calangute and Candolim. I also had a chance to shop at the Wednesday market on the Anjuna beach that is popular amongst locals and tourists alike.



End of October marks the beginning of the peak season in Goa that lasts until February. I got a chance to see the destination during India’s most popular festival, Diwali. However, Goa seems to have significant influence of the west, particularly Portuguese which is quite easily noticeable in Goans’ lifestyle, language and architecture. Goa is also home to renowned forts, churches, monastery and cathedrals some of which were covered by me.



Besides Goa, Kerala is another of highly popular Indian destinations for most Britons who flock here in droves and it’s no different for me. My Kerala trip has begun and will be the highlight of my upcoming blog.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0802s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb