Farewell...


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
June 10th 2006
Published: July 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I can't believe it is almost ten years to the day since I left Australia to go live in Canada for a year and here I am, fleeing the country once again. This morning went quite quickly with last minute packing & panicking on the agenda and after a quick stop to collect some photos, it was off to the airport. In typical Nicolle style we pushed the limits of time & ended up with only a few minutes for farewells before I boarded the plane. After transferring to the International terminal in Sydney, I had a couple of hours to sit around & contemplate what the next year has in store, before boarding a British Airways flight to Bangkok.
The first hiccup came when I discovered that my sleeping bag had become detached from my pack & was probably on it's way to London! After clearing customs (or at least walking past an unattended desk), changing some money & meeting with my driver, I walked outside to a blast of heat which felt about 35 degrees even though it was almost midnight. An impending storm made for an uncomfortably high humidity level & I watched the lightening in air conditioned comfort on the way to the hotel. By the time I arrived in the room it was well into the next day & I fell into bed exhausted.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0249s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb