To Laos


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
June 23rd 2012
Published: June 26th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I’m writing from a sleeper train headed for the Laos-Thai border. I’m settled in my little bed tucked up high behind a curtain, having made it up a narrow ladder, taking a moment to write on my netbook while the boys are on their beer run. The train is swaying side to side but it’s lovely and quiet. The sheets are fresh and cool, a welcome contrast to the heat and humidity of the capital made more tiresome with at least 18kg of luggage. Making you wonder what on earth you packed. I truly forget that you can come by almost anything here, indeed even items controlled or prohibited in the UK. Puppy anyone? Or a taser? I could even, I believe, purchase a UCL Medical degree. Well, in paper anyway so perhaps I shall just finish my degree here?!

Having loaded up my kindle with books on the way to the airport, I am delighted with all the titles I have stored away for the trip and have started with 5o Shades Of Grey, which since I’ve heard of, I am seeing in paperback in the hands of many tourists. It is such a luxury to rest with a book after such a long journey and not have your responsibilities suspended.. Our flight was very comfortable, although, I have no idea how people manage to sleep or eat for that matter, I’m not really made for flying. I was fortunate enough to have a selection of music channels and cinema options, which was a surprise and even better, this month’s Elle magazine and today’s Times.

I can’t explain how bizarre it is to arrive at Bangkok airport, under the effects of jet lag and too much television, to have one of your oldest and dearest friends waiting for you, having arrived at 5am themselves. This is someone I’ve scarcely seen out of Amersham, where we hang out in all the same places. I’ve forgotten what an easy stay Asia is. Everything is so easy to come by and organise on a whim. Our friend Alex happened to be staying on a road we walked through on our way to get a taxi and we had time to say hi, switch numbers and we’ll all get together again soon. It’s quite a small world really isn’t it when you can hop on a plane and network with people from all over the world. Almost everyone seems to have a smartphone, an i-pad or laptop and I’m glad I decided on taking mine in the end. It’s strange seeing all the fractures and chips on it, from rushing around London, now in front of me but in such a foreign place.

Tomorrow morning we will arrive and make our way into Laos. That is if the boys ever reappear, they have been ages, for goodness sake I’d like my celebratory-we-are-on-our-way-beer.

Peace and much love from Katie

Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0295s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb