Bangkok has me one last time.


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
March 22nd 2012
Published: March 22nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

So, for the very last time, hello from Thailand! I can't believe that in a few short hours I will be boarding a plane and flying home after what seems like a lifetime away. Maybe not in terms of time - six months is a long and short time all in one - but in terms of how much I've achieved and how much I've changed. I feel like the person I left behind in England is a very different person to the one that's coming home tomorrow!



The last few days have flown by, we said goodbye to Bully on Monday, spent Tuesday by the pool and then getting some last minute souvenirs. Yesterday, Holly took me took Terminal 21, another shopping centre here in Bangkok that I hadn't visited, then we spent the rest of the afternoon/evening with Sarah, who has come back from Ko Chang to spend her last few days in Bangkok too. Today, Holly and Sarah have gone off to do some more shopping and I've stayed behind at the hostel to sort out a few final things.



I'm so excited to be coming home! Although not every experience I've had out here has been good, it has all been valuable in terms of lessons learnt. Whilst I will probably never teach EFL again, I have no doubt that my travelling days are still only in their infancy and I'll be looking to go somewhere else before long. The only problem I'm going to have is deciding which country to go to next (after I've earned some more money to fund it, of course!).



It will be a shock to the system to have to think about what to wear everyday, to actually have to look out of the window at what the weather is doing before knowing how many layers to put on and to have such a huge range of shoes to choose from each day - I've got quite used to going barefoot, maybe my shoes will become redundant (or not...). As mad as it sounds, I'm actually looking forward to having to wear jumpers and snuggle under my duvet without getting all hot and sweaty - there are certainly benefits to being cold once in a while!



I don't doubt that I will lose touch with at least half the people I've met out here pretty quickly, but I've met so many wonderful people along the way and there are definitely a special few that I hope I'll still be in touch with this time next year and beyond! It will be nice to get back to my 'England' life but be able to integrate my 'Thailand' one into it as well - the best bits only, of course!



So here it is, the end of this chapter. What happens next? Who knows...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0366s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb