Chatuchak Market and Khao San Road


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
August 20th 2011
Published: September 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

You can't be in Bangkok on a weekend and not hit Chatuchak Market - unless you've hit Muay Thai and drinks the night before that is, and experiencing your own version of the "The Hangover".

It was evident BJ was staying in today and I wasn't going to waste a day in Bangkok. I continued with my plan to go to Chatuchak market, said to be one of the largest markets in SE Asia. Despite everything I had read, I figured I could walk in an organised fashion to cover off everything, and gauge prices before going back to a stall I favoured.

Huh!

This place is cannot be comprehended. It's not like a market you or I are accustomed to at home - neat aisles that you can browse up and down - no - these have aisles, off lanes, off streets. At any given moment you are faced with a new challenge of choosing to go straight, left or right. Everyone's perception of the market would be so unique because everyone will literally walk a different route. You might see the same thing 10 times over as you get lost (as I did!). You might miss sections completely (again, as I did - I have no idea where the animal section was, although I'm glad I never came across it). What was an open air street half an hour ago is now set up with stalls selling bags and underwear -disorientating you relentlessly. I had found a great present earlier but mistakenly passed it up and could no longer find my way back. This was my biggest disappointment of the day. I had to give up my desire for order and submit to the chaos and wonder that was Chatuchak.

I found myself eating the best sweets ever - a kind of donut thing but not (crispy outside, then hollow, then doughy centre) and shopping for some great souvenirs. I headed home after a solid 6 hours - it was nice to board the airconditioned train and get my bearings again.

That night BJ ventured out of the hotel room to come to Khao San Road with me. A famous backpackers strip; it was manic to walk through. Glad we saw it, and I finallly tried street cooked Pad Thai for $1AUD, but while I'd certainly consider going back for the atmosphere, I think my luggage will be staying on the other side of town in a comfortable abode - I'm getting too old for the Khao San Road accommodation scene I think.

The long awaited Kanchanaburi follows with an early start tomorrow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0548s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb