Muay Thai


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
May 6th 2006
Published: May 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Muay Thai @ LumphiniMuay Thai @ LumphiniMuay Thai @ Lumphini

These are the fighters form the main event.
Hi All,

First of, let me apologize for the long delay between posts. Everything had been hectic and/or I had been lazy recently so posts on the blog were delayed to say the least. I am currently in S'pore sorting out my issues but I'll try to recount my days in Thailand in chronological order before I get to S'pore. Thanks to a hand written journal that I update semi regularly, I am able to preserve my thoughts and feelings that I hope to post in these blogs.

Today we were just too tired to move after the all-nighter last night that stretched till about 11am in the morning. We slept in till about 7pm at which point we decided to go to the Lumphini stadium for fight night. I'm not a big fan of man beating man to a pulp regardless of how regulated or spiritual it is. Nevertheless I agreed as my friend was quite insistent on it. Being Saturday, we figured it would be packed but to our dismay, the stadium was quite empty. We got persuaded into purchasing "ring-side" seats which were quite expensive (3500Bht for 2) in retrospect. Well you only live once (at
Muay Thai @ Lumphini2Muay Thai @ Lumphini2Muay Thai @ Lumphini2

These are the fighters form the main event.
least only see Thai boxing in Lumphini at ringside once) right?

The night itself consist of 10 fights of 5 rounds each (barring knockouts). The first several rounds were children, about 8-13 years old, duking it out in Thai style. We didn't seem to mind at first as it was all very new for us. But after about 5th match the habituation and boredom starts to kick in and I got quite tired of kids beating each other. I am sure I can find a bloodier fight in a Scarborough kindergarten. But things took a turn for the better when real man decided to fight. There were flying knees, kicks, parries, elbows, punches and various throws. And there was blood, and lots of it. Now that’s more like it. I found myself cheering in Thai along with the crowd and getting really into the fight which I found quite strange as I didn't expect to be entertained by violence.

The winner the main match took about 5000Bht in prize money (quite insubstantial considering we paid 3500Bht for just 2 seats). Later on we managed to get pictures with the winner as well as other boxers in the training
Muay Thai @ Lumphini 3Muay Thai @ Lumphini 3Muay Thai @ Lumphini 3

The winner of the main event w/ the sponser
room.

After the fight, we spent the evening strolling and eating at Lumphini night market around the corner. The market was actually quite modern and had an awesome sounding sound system as well as a retractable rain roof. I don't think the pictures did justice to the atmosphere in that place. The place just calls for a live band in a hot summer day.





Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Muay Thai @ Lumphini 4Muay Thai @ Lumphini 4
Muay Thai @ Lumphini 4

B. and I w/ the champ. Yep I'm taller than him.
Lumphini Night MarketLumphini Night Market
Lumphini Night Market

This is the open air concert stage at the market. There are various Thai food stores along side it so you can get a table in the center, eat and enjoy the show (or music).


24th May 2006

Man, that "champ" guy could kick your ass, guess we know who wears the pants in that relationship

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.048s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb