Floating Markets


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Nonthaburi
May 5th 2006
Published: May 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The day started out early today. Well actually, it never ended from last night. After hitting up a couple bars\clubs in Patapong, we didn't get home till about 5:30am. Since we were up and about, we decided to catch the sunrise on top of the "golden mount" which is a wat perched on top of a man-made hill. Unfortunately, the temple was closed and the walls were too high for us to scale.

We decided to hit the floating markets in Bangkok. After talking to the driver, he said he would take us out of town to a different floating market which is more "original". So off we went to Nonthaburi (I think) and spent a couple of hours crusing down many canals sampling on various local delicacies.

On the way back, we stopped at a large wat whose name escapes me right now. I believe it was in the town of Nathom Phatom (excuse my spelling).

Got home around 11am after the trip and slept till about 7ish. We got ringside seats for Muay Thai boxing at Lupinee stadium. Dinner was in an outdoor night market by the stadium.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Floating MarketFloating Market
Floating Market

Fruit stalls
Floating MarketFloating Market
Floating Market

Preparing noodles
Floating MarketFloating Market
Floating Market

Eating the noodles!
A TempleA Temple
A Temple

On the way back from Nathonburi to BK
MuralMural
Mural

The man in the picture is the artist of the mural.
Muay ThaiMuay Thai
Muay Thai

Fight night!


10th May 2006

Hi Stan. I feel like I'm on the trip with you.
Hi Stan, Love your blog particularly your pics which are soooo professional might I add. I'm not sure if my other comment was sent through so to be safe I'm trying again. Anyway like I said in my previous comment I feel like I'm travelling with you coz of your detailed blog. DEspite my hectic schedule at the moment I can at least imagine that I'm travelling with you. I hope you have a fantastic trip. Any room for Australia in your plans. Keep us entertained with the blog!! Love Tanya
15th May 2006

Represent!!
Keep the stories and pics coming, someone should be enjoying thier time while i'm up late working :) You should've gone into that Muay Thai ring and shown them how we fight Canadian style.... wait we only had Lennox Lewis as our boxer/fighter and he defected.... hahaha

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.041s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb