The Zoo, river trip and Kao San Road....


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
February 27th 2011
Published: March 15th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I wake up to the alarm at 9am, this bed is so comfy that it's becoming hard to get up in the mornings here!! I think having air con and a nice cosy duvet and a huge tv helps too, BUT this is my last day of my travels and i have a full day ahead planned so make my usual morning cuppa and go for a dip in the roof top pool. The place i'm staying at has a huge kitchenette complete with breakfast bowls, which is a first since i started out travelling, so for the first time in 2 months i actually eat my cereals out of a bowl, rather than slumming them out the packet!!! I really am living it up!! There's even a cookery book but afraid i don't have time to try out any of the recipes, ha.....

Well the zoo is the first thing on my itinerary so i catch the hotel's tuk tuk to Asok station and catch the sky bus, from there i grab a taxi to the zoo. Traffic in Bangkok is worse than London, so this was the quickest method, the sky bus itself being a helluva lot quicker than what looked like a short taxi journey from the station to the zoo, but eventually made it and manage to get away from the hustle and bustle of Bangkok amongst the giraffes, lions and tigers and numerous other animals......

The zoo has a great lay out with a platform which you can walk along taking you around part of the circuit, thus making it easier to see some of the animals. I remember last time i was here (a few years ago now) it was monsoon season and so raining heavily so not many animals wanted to come out to play, but today all seemed to be up for posing for the camera and I had a lovely few hours just chilling and watching the animals laze in the sun. As zoos go i thought the animals had plenty of room and they seemed happy.....

I spent a few hours here then treated myself to waffles and ice cream and went on my way.... next stop, the riverside.... I took a tuk tuk to my proposed destination which was fun, and im really gonna miss the tuk tuks and motos here...... I then got aboard the river taxi as that's the cheapest way to see the river here(only about 60 pence return!!) and chilled on board for the hour's boat ride taking in the sights, we pass part of the Royal Palace, a couple of temples, along with the slums of Bangkok.... it's interesting seeing the richest and poorest right next to each other......

I have to get off at the last stop, which is a temple, to be honest not the most exciting of temples considering a lot that i've seen, but i wandered around the outside, and then caught the next river taxi back, i'd worked this out well to coincide with the sunset which was great and a perfect end to my travels, knowing it would be the last sunset i'll see for quite a while...... I get the river taxi to the Kao San Road, for anyone that doesn't know, this is the most touristy part of Bangkok, but has to be done, and great for shopping! I really could've done with longer here, but i have a quick look around the shops and stalls, buy a few bits and bobs, and then have a meal, the best thing about it is the lush butterscotch cake and ice cream :-) I also see a really nice picture, but know it will be a mare bringing it back with luggage so resist it as it's a tad on the large size........

I then have to make my way back to the hotel as still have all my packing to do for the flight tomorrow.......

The packing goes ok and it does seem down a bit (well ok, very slighlty!!) compared to the beginning of the travels, i spend some time just chilling in my plush hotel room but know i need to grab an early night for the flight tomorrow, i set 2 alarm clocks and start to stress that i won't wake up, neither have a snooze button and i have to be at the airport at 630 am....... But eventually i get much needed sleep before the long flight tomorrow.......

Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0513s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb