A chilled one at one of my fave hotels and Lumphini Park.....


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
February 26th 2011
Published: March 8th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I woke up a lot later than I'd intended today, a result no doubt of too many shots the night before, and i guess it had been a pretty hectic day too!! The bed was also the comfiest bed i've had since i started my travels which made it even harder to rise and shine, so i flicked on the tv, i could easily have had a real duvet day today, but knowing i only have 2 days left of my travels i didnt really want to waste it, so when one of the programmes had an article on 'How Sponge Bob saved my friend's life' i really did know it was time to get a move on and get the hell out of bed, comfy or not, ha.....

I still took the day quite easy and went for a swim in the lush pool, i then came back and had breakfast on the balcony and chilled, really making the most of the plush apartment i'd bagged myself in a good online deal :-) Anyone wanting a good hotel in Bangkok at a great price i definitely recommend Balley's studio apartments!!

I'd hoped to go around Chatachak market today but realised i'd left it too late, being the last few times i'd been there i can easily spend a whole day looking around, so opted for Lumphini Park and the nearby night market in the afternoon.....

I caught the hotel's tuk tuk service to the train station, followed by metro to the park and had a lovely couple of hours walking around, I've been here before and have to say for me it's one of the better things that Bangkok has to offer and a great way to avoid the hustle and bustle of the busy streets there...... Amongst things i came across was a huge lizard scaring the sunbathers!! Bushes cut in the shape of elephants and a few outdoor aerobics and tai chi sessions going on.......

I then decided to check out the night bazaar, i remembered roughly where it was, but couldn't seem to find it, after about an hour of asking directions and going in complete opposite directions (I was thinking maybe it had moved from last time..) I'm told that the night market is no more..... grrr, why couldn't someone have told me instead of sending me in completely wrong directions, i mean why would i ask the way to a market that's no longer there!!!? anyway i decided to head for Patpong market as that's also a night market, although not as good as the one that used to be there, not having the food and music section that the old one had, what a shame it had shut down...... I had a browse around, although as predicted i wasn't very impressed, everything was really overpriced compared to other markets i'd been to, at least i'd bought most things in Cambodia and there wasn't much i really needed to get anyway, so just got some food from a stall and headed for home, settling down with a nice cuppa, some cake i'd bought and the comfy bed and tv :-)



Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0559s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb