Leaving for Blighty.......


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
February 28th 2011
Published: March 15th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Despite my worries about sleeping through 2 alarms, hence no snooze buttons on either, i wake up to the first one relieved, and know that i can't resist the comfy bed and have to rise and shine (that i REALLY don't feel like doing at 5 am especially when unlike any other early starts i've had it''s not for anything good, or interesting, just for my journey home back to good old Blighty......

I quickly get my stuff together and get a taxi to the station, i actually arrive too early for the first train so have a 20 minute wait (damn that could've been a nice lie in there!! But not the kind've thing i'd want to chance especially what the traffic's like here!!) But at least the journey from the hotel to the airport is a lot less stressful than i had coming and i make it there in time for check in.... Now this is the 6th flight i've taken whilst i've been travelling, and my luggage is down compared to any of the other trips, yet this is the first place i'm pulled up for it!! My hand luggage apparently weighs 10 kg instead of 7 kg, oh dear!!! well i manage to somehow juggle stuff around so the stuffy airport assistant is satisfied that my bag is now 3 kg lighter and go on my way, as soon as he's out of sight, the offending articles (mainly my trainers and books!!) work their way back inside my bag and i proceed to the gate..... I will say though, that i actually wore and used every single item i took (bar 2 books!!) and no regrets about the over packing at all ;-P sorry i'm just not one of these people as some websites suggests that can manage on 2 changes of underwear and one pair of shorts & 2 tops for 2 months..... I remember reading some advice of packing, then halving it, then halving it again, WTF!!?? All i can say is im glad i didnt take that advice, or maybe i just like my clothes and home comforts too much ;-)

My first leg of the journey goes a lot better than the leg coming out here (where if you've read my first entry your'll know why!!) but this could be down to avoiding any airline food as i'm definitely not taking any more chances there, qatar airlines, thank you very much!!!!! I'm still in need of some sleep so manage to catch up on a few hours, surprisingly the first leg goes quite quickly and after 6 hours i arrive in Qatar where i have just over 5 hours to kill.....

Now 5 hours seems an age when your at an airport, but just like the whole two months of my travelling, even this time seems to fly.... I decide to do some yoga as it's a brilliant way to kill time somewhere like this so roll my yoga mat out in the quiet room and have a really good 2 hour sess followed by some meditation. A nice Spanish lady decides she wants to chat though, that's getting a bit embarrassing being we're officially in the 'Quiet Room' but luckily nobody seems to mind either that or the yoga....... I then find free internet which passes some more time, and before i know it, it's time for my last leg of the journey back to the UK, this goes smoothly, throughout the journey i actually manage to work my way through an entire book, bringing my grand total of books read to 6, only 2 i didn't get through!!!

I'm really sad to have come to the end of my travels. The whole 2 months has been the best experience of my life and i really cannot believe how quick it's gone. It's now been 2 weeks since i got back. Apologies for the 2 week wait for this last entry but i actually ended up being so busy when i first returned for pretty boring work related and car related issues which i won't bore you with the details, and i then went and sprained my wrist in yoga class putting me out of typing action!!! But here it is, at last, the very last entry, I hope you all enjoyed reading about my travels and hope i've given a few good tips and insight to anyone planning on similar.

All i will say is i've only been back 2 weeks and already i'm planning on going back next year, so watch this space!!!!! I've also uploaded all of 2000 photos onto Snapfish so anyone wanting to check out the pics to go with my blog here you go.........http://www3.snapfish.co.uk/snapfishuk/thumbnailshare/AlbumID=11034603010/a=7713711010_7713711010/

xxxxx



Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0537s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb