Home from home


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
February 23rd 2011
Published: February 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

What an eye opening week and a half!!
I should probably give you some background. I met a friend that i used to go to school with. He used to bored at my school in England, and i haven't seen him since then, as he moved back to Bangkok after. I've been staying with his family as there wasn't room at his place. I wanted to stay at a hostel, but his family insisted. There are four generations living in one house. It's not as bad as it sounds. They're very well off, so the house is very big. They also have three full time, live in hired staff to cook and clean. It's been fantastic! Everyday they have what can only be described as a banquet every lunch and dinner time. So many different foods i've never seen or tasted before. I love trying new things, so relished the chance to try authentic Thai dining. Don't think i would have gotten away with not trying everything. They were very insistent that i did. It seemed to fascinate them that i was trying tings for the first time.

I have not really seen my friend so much (golfie, I can't pronounce his real name! lol) as he works a lot.
His mum has kind of taken it upon herself to be my own personal tour guide. It's been a real experience! One that will stick with me!
She had me driven by her private driver all around the temples. Even the Giant Budda, where i had to stick some gold leaf on his body!.

It's really refreshing to see how family is such a big part of life here. And how much respect they have for there elders. They've been so kind to me. I really don't know how to repay them! Probably by leaving. As i've nearly been here 2 weeks now! I was meant to leave a long time ago. And to honest i still don't want to leave. But i must. Just need to figure out where to go next? Any ideas?? lol

Advertisement



Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0275s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb