Death by flip-flop and cabbage.......


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
April 9th 2006
Published: April 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

okok so danger over now and storm finished. I slid home after the rain..... my flip flops have zero grip - and I just tend to aqua-plane around the place. All these worries before I left about being kidnapped by terrorists, talking to strange men etc etc and the biggest threat to my life comes from my flip-flops!

I first noticed the aqua-plane phenomenon after the first bout of rain here ; I had just arrived at Patpong and was checking it out during the day for seediness to see if I'd feel comfortable returning after dark. As I went to cross the road it was like I was walking on solid ice and I slid...nearly under the path of an oncoming car. 'Oh crikey', I thought - 'How could mom and dad ever explain to their friends that their daughter was found runover in a notorious red light district?'. Being a way from home, I shuffled back to the Skytrain like an old lady, attracting some very strange looks en-route! Daily, the internal conflict rages: should I go for my safer but hotter treksandals or risk aqua-planing if the rain comes down. Today, I was living dangerously, and the slidey shoes won. All was going well until I hit the flower and vegetable market at Pak Klong, when a stray and random squashed cabbage underfoot very nearly caused the slide/car/crash combo again. Near-death by flipflop and cabbage??.... My life is soooooooooo glamorous!!!

Today I went out and bought some new ultra-grip sensible flipflops, the DM's of the flip flop world.............


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb