Bangkok Baby


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
August 25th 2009
Published: October 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Me kissing tigerMe kissing tigerMe kissing tiger

AHHH! bit scared
Time had come to leave London Town, after working long hard hours I was quite relieved. Sitting for 12 hours watching all my favourite movies and eating, drinking my favourite food was bliss. Pity at about the tenth hour lower back pain kicked in and the dream was over.
We arrived in Sinapore and had to wait 3h before our next flight into Bangkok, the flight on Air Asia was freezing next time wear long pants.



Bangkok Baby!
Arrived in town and tried to find a place to sleep the tourist office helped and we ended up sorting out a room for 3 nights a bus to Siem Reap and our visa. May have paid a bit much but were just happy to get in a place.
Next day we went on a little adventure around the town we got on a tuk tuk to see some temples and the lucky Buddha. The driver took us to some shops dale got 3 shirts made for him and I got a dress which is all going to be made for us. I love going around the tuk tuk a bit scared for my life but heaps of fun.


During a torrential rain storm I saw a little boy with his mum on a motor bike; the boy had a small plastic bag on his head like a swimming cap. I had to laugh as I did not see the purpose, his whole body would have gotten wet.



We went on a day trip to Kanchanaburi on the way we went to Sai Yok national park which had a beautiful waterfall. I would have loved to go for a swim but there were too many people around. We also saw the Death Bridge from WW2 a museum and cemetery all dedicated to the thousands of men who lost their lives building the bridge and during bombings.
One of the highlights of the day was an elephant trek through a small forest, I was a bit scared at first but soon got into the swing of life on an elephant. A little cheeky boy hiding in the forest was using a whistle to scare the elephant we were on. The elephant’s ears picked up and it seemed unimpressed, now, I’ve seen enough wildlife shows to know that it’s not a good idea to piss an elephant off. Lucky our guide seemed to have the elephant under control. At the end we had time to feed the elephant bananas, got a bit of slobber on my hand.


Next stop was Tiger Temple, it was so cool. I was more scared of the tigers than the elephants but they all seemed friendly enough. One of them even got a kiss from me! I got a fright when it flinched and then I jumped away. As you can see in the photos dale is at ease with the tigers he was not as scared as me. What a fun day tomorrow we are off to Siem Reap in Cambodia.



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

The waterfallThe waterfall
The waterfall

Dosn't look real
MonkMonk
Monk

Has the tiger sussed


Tot: 0.247s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0508s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb